News Archive

On May 9, 2017, the department gathered for the annual Chemistry Department Award Ceremony. The ceremony is held each year to celebrate excellence in research, teaching, mentorship, coursework, and service to the department among our students, faculty, and staff. 

The department presents awards to undergraduate and graduate students for various accomplishments. Congratulations to all students who received awards!

 Research between the labs of Profs. Shouheng Sun and Christopher Seto in the Department of Chemistry has been featured in Chemical & Engineering News (1), a publication by the American Chemical Society, as well as News from Brown.

Professors Kathleen Hess and Eric Victor have won a Model Course Award for their course Spring 2016 course CHEM0500 "Inorganic Chemistry."  The awards "recognize instructors who integrate technology into their course in ways that engage students and enhance student learning." Students, faculty, and staff can nominate courses for the Model Course Award, offered by Brown's Instructional Technology Group.

The article "Differential Ability of Five DNA Glycosylases to Recognize and Repair Damage on Nucleosomal DNA" was chosen as the cover art for the March 2017 issue of ACS Chemical Biology. The article is first-authored by Dr. Eric Olmon, a former NIH Postdoctoral Fellow in the lab of Professor Sarah Delaney.

from Olmon, E.; Delaney, S. ACS Chem. Biol. 2017, 12, 692-701:

The Department of Chemistry congratulates Lucas Weiser '17, winner of Brown's Outstanding Chemistry Student Award from the Rhode Island Section of the American Chemical Society. Lucas will present his poster titled "Water Soluble [4Fe-4S] Clusters as a Point of Crosstalk Between Nitric Oxide and Hydrogen Sulfide" at the ACS RI Chapter Poster Session & Awards Night on April 11. 

Tian JianTian JianThe Department of Chemistry is proud to announce that Tian Jian, a graduate student in Professor Lai-Sheng Wang's lab, has received an Outstanding Self-Financed Students Abroad award. This highly competitive award is set up by the China Scholarship Council (CSC) to honor overseas Chinese students with outstanding academic accomplishments.

The Department of Chemistry presents Professor Kenneth D. Karlin as the 2017 Leallyn Burr Clapp lecturer. He will give the lecture on Thursday, April 13 and a colloquium the following day as part of Chemistry's Friday Colloquium Series. 

The Chemistry Diversity & Inclusion Action Committee is hosting a seminar by Dr. Dontarie Stallings, Research & Program Manager of OXIDE, the Open Chemistry Collaborative in Diversity Equity. OXIDE is a 5-year, NSF/NIH/DoE-funded initiative to change the academic chemistry infrastructure from the top down by working with the chairs of leading research-active chemistry departments to reduce inequitable policies and practices that have historically led to disproportionate representation on academic faculties with respect to gender, race-ethnicity, disabilities, and sexual orientation(1).

On January 24, 2017, 30 students along with teachers and staff from the 360 High School in Providence visited Brown for the first-ever STEM Day, hosted by Prof. Ou Chen and sponsored by the Department of Chemistry.

Students work in groups on an inquiry-based electrochemistry experimentStudents work in groups on an inquiry-based electrochemistry experime