News Archive

Today, the Department of Chemistry welcomes 14 new graduate students from around the world. Welcome to Brown and best of luck with this exciting phase in your education and career! 

Undergraduates at Brown can apply for Summer Undergraduate Teaching & Research Awards (UTRAs) to fund summer research.

The Department of Chemistry presents Professor Thomas E. Mallouk '77 as the 2016 John Howard Appleton lecturer. He will give the lecture on Thursday, September 29 a colloquium the following day as part of Chemistry's Friday Colloquium Series.

Credit: Cane LabCredit: Cane LabProfessor David E. Cane retired this summer after over 40 years of service to Brown University. Named in his honor, a special issue The Journal of Antibiotics was published in July 2016.


The issue editors write: 

On Sunday, May 29, 2016, graduating students and invited guests gathered at MacMillan Hall for the Chemistry Department Diploma Ceremony. Due to a large graduating class, this is the second year the ceremony was held in two parts: once for graduate degree recipients and again for baccalaureate degree candidates.

Congratulations to Zoe Greenburg and Claire Rhee, who will graduate on May 29, 2016 with Bachelors of Science, on receiving prestigious Fulbright Scholarships. Read the news story about Brown's 2016 Fulbright recipients.

David E. CaneDavid E. CaneDavid Cane, the Vernon K. Krieble Professor of Chemistry and Professor of Biochemistry, will retire as of June 30, 2016.

Katie Bilotti and a magnified tardigradeKatie Bilotti and a magnified tardigrade

On May 10, 2016, the department gathered to celebrate this past year's accomplishments of our students, faculty, and staff. The celebration began with conferral of undergraduate and graduate student awards and was followed by a reception.

Congratulations to all students who received awards!

Michelle Muzzio, a graduate student in Prof. Shouheng Sun's lab, has been awarded a 2016 NSF Graduate Research Fellowship.