Meet the ICers

Current Independent Concentrators at Brown

Check out some of the Independent Concentrations currently being pursued at Brown! 

To see IC proposals written by graduated ICers, visit the CRC IC Database. Proposals for the Class of 2021 will be posted by the beginning of the fall '21 semester.

Class of 2021.5:

  • Peter Deegan, Philosophy, Politics, and Economics, AB
  • Saoirse MaherGreene, Social Trauma Studies, AB
  • Ivy Scott, International Journalism, AB
  • Benjamin Spiegel, Computers and Minds, ScB

Class of 2022:

  • Sara AlRabiah, Philosophy, Politics, and Economics, AB
  • Evan Dong, Sustainability, Institutions, and Organizations, AB
  • Nina Fletcher, Creative Ecology, AB
  • Muskaan Garg, Political Psychology and Behavior, AB
  • Ilia Giokaris, Human-Centered Design, AB
  • Alexander Kamper, Geography, AB
  • Starling Lily Louis, Philosophy, Politics, and Economics, AB
  • Maisy Meyer, Human Biological and Medical Illustration, AB
  • Neha Mukherjee, Journalism, AB
  • David Onabanjo, Communication and Social Influence, AB
  • Ethan Pan, Food Writing, AB
  • Carlos Perez-Ruiz, Game Design and Development, AB
  • Laila Rodenbeck, Philosophy, Politics, and Economics, AB
  • Diego Rodriguez, Philosophical Inquiry Through Creative Forms, AB
  • Sydney Scott, Entrepreneurship and Music Innovation, AB
  • Anya Semizhonova, Visual Communication, AB
  • Charisa Shin, Human-Centered Design, AB
  • Thomas Summe, Computational Neuroscience, ScB

Class of 2022.5:

  • Theodor Apkinar, Computational Neuroscience, ScB
  • Gemma Brand-Wolf, Studies of Death and Dying, AB

Class of 2023:

  • Aaron Castillo, Food and Identity, AB
  • Izzy Cox, Human Rights and the Refugee Experience, AB
  • Caroline David, Human-Centered Design, AB
  • Reetam Ganguli, Cancer Engineering in Medicine, ScB
  • Kaitlin Goldin, Storytelling, AB
  • Emily Moini, Philosophy, Politics, and Economics, AB
  • Kira K. Clarke, Imagination (Cognition, Computation, and Expression), ScB
  • Sojas Wagle, Psychiatric Epidemiology, ScB
  • Lila Zimbalist, Computational Neuroscience, ScB

Class of 2023. 5:

  • Davi Sapiro-Gheiler, The Body: Trans Studies, Aesthetic Culture, and Creative Practice

Some descriptions:



Gemma Brand-Wolf  '22.5

Studies of Death & Life (SDL) is the interdisciplinary exploration of death and the impact it has in overlapping spheres of human life. SDL considers the ways in which death is woven into the interdisciplinary fabric of our lives and ponders the fundamental questions of how we die, what it means to die, how we imagine and represent death, and how we consider life in the knowledge and wake of death. SDL will incorporate both academic pursuit and creative practice in order to navigate the subjectivity and sensitivity of the subject with intentionality.


Peter Deegan '21.5

Philosophy, Politics & Economics (PPE) is an interdisciplinary concentration that combines the study of three different fields to form a broader understanding of how our world works. By combining rigorous philosophical analysis with political thought and economic research, PPE produces a whole greater than the sum of its parts.



Saoirse MaherGreene '21.5

Social Trauma Studies investigates how individuals and communities experience and cope with deeply distressing and painful events. This study begins by looking at individual and communal trauma separately, then integrates these inquiries in an effort to critically consider what avenues towards trauma reduction, healing, and prevention may exist.


Diego Rodriguez '22


Philosophical Inquiry Through Creative Forms introduces visual arts as a way to conduct philosophical inquiry. Drawing from western as well as non-western traditions of philosophical argumentation and proficiency in creative practices, I develop my ability to conduct philosophical analysis through artistic practice.




Ivy Scott '21.5

International Journalism studies the application of ethnographic research and journalistic writing on specific regions and communities for the purpose of socio-political change. This concentration additionally examines the impact written media can have in a global context—that is, not just how journalism influences the “subject” country or region, but also how globalization has made it possible for media to influence social and political systems across the world, and what the results of that influence (both good and bad) can be.

Benjamin Spiegel '21.5

Computers and Minds is a holistic study of artificial intelligence that aims to learn from centuries of research on the nature of human intelligence to inform our pursuit of artificial general intelligence. Computers and Minds also explores the societal and ethical implications of AGI and ultimately spans the fields of linguistics, philosophy, psychology, and computer science.

Theodore Akpinar '22.5

Computational Neuroscience uses computers and mathematical tools to study the brain. Computational methods are used to quantitatively research neural processes and then neurological research and data are used to inform the development of new and better computational tools. This concentration lives at the intersections of minds, brains, machines, and math.

Evan Dong '22 

Sustainability, Institutions, and Organizations takes an interdisciplinary approach to examining how and why different organizational structures come to exist and exert power. Economics, political science, and sociology interpret how interlocking institurions mediate control over environmental resources and impacts.


Nina Fletcher '22

Creative Ecology is the study of how artists can actively engage with ecological and environmental issues in order to imagine and institute livable, equitable, and sustainable futures for all species. It is primarily focused on the three intersecting areas of art, ecology, and social justice.

Carlos Perez-Ruiz '22 


Game Design and Development is the accumulative study of the mediums that come to together when designing and developing video games. This concentration focuses on the technical, artistic, and fundamental skills required to make games by covering the mechanical, visual, narrative, and musical components that make games fun and engaging for players.

Charisa Shin '22 

Human-Centered Design explores the intersection of computer science, human factors, and sociology with the objective of improving and extending inclusivity and accessibility within technology.



 Anna Semizhonova '22 

Visual Communication is the practical and theoretical study of images created with the primary purpose of communicating information and ideas. The concentration investigates images beyond fine art and their relationship with other forms of communication. Through the study of history, aesthetics, visual perception, and illustration techniques, the concentration teaches how to efficiently communicate in visual form.

Starling Louis '22

Philosophy, Politics, and Economics (PPE) explores how human ideas and institutions drive change. The study implores the utilization of philosophical ideals, and economic realities in the formulation of policy-based solutions for key societal problems. Just as sailors at sea require three compasses to discern their position, and navigate tumultuous foreign waters, PPE utilizes three differing instruments to explore today’s equally turbulent affairs.

 Sojas Wagle '23 

Psychiatric Epidemiology studies the incidence, distribution, and control of mental illness in populations, especially racial, gender, and sexual minority populations. 

Class of 2021

Class of 2020