Home Country Study Away/Transfer

This page provides information about transfer credit policies, concentration substitution procedures, and two of Brown's exchange programs with other institutions. Information about study abroad opportunities (Brown, Brown-approved, and petition programs) is available on the Office of International Programs website.

Transfer Credits

With the appropriate permissions, Brown students are allowed to earn credit at other colleges and universities as part of their degree. U.S. citizens and permanent residents of the United States may petition the College to study at a regionally-accredited two- or four-year college or university in the U.S.; students studying on F-1 visas may petition to study at a two- or four-year institution in their home countries. Students must obtain pre-approval from both a dean and a faculty member in a relevant department in order to transfer course credit back to Brown. Students who wish to use a non-Brown course to satisfy concentration requirements must obtain a third permission from their concentration advisor.

To arrange to have credits transferred, students must complete a transfer of credit form and have an official transcript mailed to the Brown Registrar. A maximum of 15 course credits may be transferred towards the Brown degree. For more information, contact Dean Julie Lee.

Concentration Approval for Non-Brown Work

Subject to a concentration advisor's approval, students may substitute non-Brown work for concentration requirements. Examples might include approved study-abroad courses, pre- (for transfer students) or post-Brown transfer credit, advanced placement test scores, or a summer internship completed as part of a professional track, capstone, or Engaged Scholars Program practicum. Transfer credit (as defined above) is not required to grant concentration credit; however, some concentration advisors may make concentration credit approval conditional upon University transfer credit approval, so students are advised to consult with their concentration advisor for specific policies. Students and concentration advisors may find instructions for incorporating non-Brown work into a student's concentration course plan in the Information Technology ASK knowledgebase

Tougaloo Exchange Program

Brown's connection with Tougaloo, an historically black college in Jackson, Mississippi, began in 1964, when activists from Brown traveled to Jackson to help in the struggle for civil rights. Since then, the two schools have developed a number of programs designed to expand educational and service opportunities for Brown and Tougaloo students, faculty, and staff. Current programs include faculty exchanges, a semester-long student exchange program, and the Early Identification Program (EIP).

The Early Identification Program (EIP) is a cooperative venture between Alpert Medical School and Providence College, Rhode Island College, the University of Rhode Island, and Tougaloo College. EIP aims to increase opportunities for careers in medicine to Rhode Island residents and to students from racial and ethnic groups underrepresented in American medicine. Students are identified by their premedical advisor in their sophomore year of college, participate in professional development activities, and enroll in medical school after receiving the bachelor's degree. Up to two students may be admitted annually from each school. For more information, contact Dean Maitrayee Bhattacharyya.

Wheaton Exchange Program

Wheaton College is a small liberal arts college located in Norton, Massachusetts, approximately 20 miles from Brown. An exchange program allows Brown students to take courses at Wheaton that are not available at Brown, such as courses in elementary and secondary education.

Wheaton's course offerings can be viewed through their online course catalog and scheduleApplications for cross-registration must be submitted by the end of the second week of any given semester at Brown. Interested students should speak with Dean Julie Lee