College Curriculum Committee

The College Curriculum Committee (CCC) is an elected body of faculty, students, and administrators charged with overseeing undergraduate curricular offerings at Brown. The Committee reviews individual course proposals as well as larger programs of study, including concentrations, study abroad, and degree programs. In addition, the Committee is responsible for academic policies related to the curriculum, such as grading policies, the role of undergraduate teaching assistants (UTAs), and course evaluations

The CCC consists of 18 members: the Dean of the College, who serves as chair; 8 faculty members, one of whom serves as vice-chair; 4 undergraduate students; 4 additional administrators (an Associate Dean of the College, an Associate Dean of the Faculty, an Associate Dean of Biological Sciences, and the Registrar); and the Council secretary. The Dean of the College welcomes all interested faculty and students to stand for election.

The CCC meets regularly, typically twice a month on the 2nd and 4th Tuesday of the month from 4:00-5:30 pm in University Hall  room 218. Per Brown University Faculty Rules, its meetings are open to the University community. Members of the Brown community wishing to see minutes may contact Sarah Mullen.

Download the Agenda for the CCC Meeting of April 24, 2018.

Proposing Changes to Concentration Requirements and Related Policies

Proposals for changes to approved concentrations (including changes to the approved core and elective courses and honors requirements) should be submitted to the senior associate dean for the curriculum, ideally in the fall term for implementation the following academic year. Proposals are reviewed by the Executive Committee and, depending on the nature of the proposal, a decision might be rendered or the matter may be discussed and voted on at a meeting of the full CCC. In rare cases, faculty are invited to the Executive Committee or the full CCC to address related questions. 

Proposals should include a rationale for the change(s) and a document that compares the current requirements with the proposed revision. 

New Courses Proposals/Substantive Modifications to Existing Courses

See additional information and deadlines here.

Proposing A New Concentration

See the CCC's process and expectations for new concentration proposals. Proposals for jointly administered concentrations (i.e. concentrations proposed by more than one department or program) and for concentrations housed in non-departmental units (e.g. interdisciplinary centers) should carefully review the additional guidelines and considerations.

Policies and Recent CCC Reports

Related Resources