Opportunities for Support & Leadership

CBLR Course Designation

Instructors teaching community-engaged courses are strongly encouraged to add the Community-Based Learning and Research (CBLR) designation to their courses, in order to make them more visible to students. Courses can be submitted for the designation at the time the course is first proposed or by initiating a "modification" for an existing course in Banner. Swearer Center staff are happy to consult with faculty about the designation and/or course design. 

Learning Communities

With support from the Davis Education Foundation, the Swearer Center is offering five learning communities in 2019-20. The Swearer Center’s year-long, cohort-based learning communities provide the opportunity for small groups of colleagues to build and sustain intellectual community through discussion of key themes, best practices, and their own experiences and questions related to community-engaged teaching and research.

Very short applications will be accepted on a rolling basis through September 10, 2019.

Community-Engaged Course Development Grants

The Swearer Center provides curriculum development grants to Brown faculty and instructors to develop new community-engaged courses or revise existing courses to include community engagement. The goal of these grant programs is to create high-impact learning experiences and collaborative educational partnerships that address major social challenges and produce tangible public benefits. Applications are accepted on a rolling basis. For more details, visit the grants page.

Faculty Fellows Program

The Swearer Center is piloting a faculty fellowship program in which faculty, lecturers and postdocs contribute to the academic rigor, quality and leadership of specific Swearer programs, including the Royce Fellowship, the Storytellers Fellowship, the Social Innovation Fellowship and the Engaged Scholars Program. In some cases, they may also inform the development of new programs, such as a CBLR Fellows program that will build on Brown's strong tradition of curricular peer mentoring and assist faculty teaching CBLR-designated courses.

Applications are being accepted through December 17, 2018, for the 2019-20 Faculty Fellows positions. See the full call here.

One-on-One Consultations

Several members of the Swearer Center staff are available to consult with interested faculty, staff and administrators about engaged teaching and research. Please send requests or questions to Julie Plaut, Director of Faculty Engagement and Research, at [email protected]

Howard R. Swearer Engaged Faculty Awards

These annual awards recognize and celebrate excellence in community-engaged scholarship by Brown University faculty. The work of award recipients will reflect the Swearer Center’s values of supporting ethical and engaged student leadership; reciprocity and respect; diversity, equity, and inclusion; social justice; and intellectual rigor.

  • The Engaged Faculty Award for Teaching recognizes innovative pedagogy that produces high-impact learning experiences and collaborative educational partnerships that address major social challenges and contribute to tangible public benefit.
  • The Engaged Faculty Award for Research honors faculty whose research engages community partners in reciprocal relationships to co-produce knowledge, resulting in public value and recognizable scholarly impacts in their field(s) of inquiry.

Each faculty award carries a $5,000 total prize, $3,000 of which goes to the faculty recipient’s department for their professional development, research, or other appropriate uses, and $2,000 to their designated community partner(s).

All regular faculty (including tenure-track and tenured), medical and clinical faculty, and term faculty (adjuncts, lecturers, visiting faculty, postdoctoral fellows) are eligible to apply. Nominations for the 2020 Engaged Faculty Awards will open on UFunds in fall 2019 and be due in February 2020.

With questions, contact Julie Plaut, Director of Faculty Engagement and Research, Swearer Center, and Assistant Dean of the College, [email protected]