At Brown there are a number of professors who teach from a contemplative perspective or whose research includes a significant contemplative element; it is from this group that we would form the core faculty for the concentration. Some of them teach courses in which contemplative experience is studied primarily from a third-person approach; others primarily from a critical first-person approach; others blend both approaches. But all share a common vision that human contemplative experience is a valid and important subject for research and teaching. This group includes: 


Willoughby Britton, Psychiatry, Med School, School of Public Health
Ellen Flynn, BIOMED, Women’s Health Collaborative, Lifespan
Sara Lazar, Contemplative Studies, Harvard-Mass General
Monica Linden, Neuroscience
Eric Loucks, School of Public Health* (Semester II, 2018)
Brad Marston, Physics
Elena Salmoirago-Blotcher, School of Public Health
Takeo Watanabe, CLPS
Tara White, Community Health and Behavioral and Social Sciences


Jake Davis, Contemplative Studies
Christopher Hill, Philosophy
Michael Kennedy, Sociology
Jin Li, Education
Jared Lindahl, Contemplative Studies, Religious Studies
Rose McDermott, Political Science
Finnian Moore-Gerety, Religious Studies, Contemplative Studies
Jason Protass, Religious Studies
Srinivas Reddy, Visiting Professor, COST
Harold Roth, Religious Studies, Director of Contemplative Studies*
Bhrigupati Singh, Anthropology, Watson Institute


Michelle Bach-Coulibaly, TAPS
Carol DeBoer-Langworthy, English (Nonfiction Writing)
Erik Ehn, TAPS

 Program and Financial Coordinator:  Anne Heyrman-Hart*  For all inquiries or to schedule an appointment with Professor Roth please email anne_heyrman-hart@brown.edu

 *Indicates Concentration Advisor

Office Hours, Fall 2018:

Professor Hal Roth, Religious Studies and Director Contemplative Studies
Office Hours:  By appointment
Shirley Miller House, 59 George St., Rm. 201
Please contact anne_heyrman-hart@brown.edu for an appointment. 

Anne Heyrman-Hart, Program and Financial Coordinator, Contemplative Studies
Thursdays:  11:00 am - 1:00 pm.  
Horace Mann Building, 47 George St., Rm. 004