Faculty

Faculty

 

 

Amy Chew
Lecturer - Anatomy Course
Amy_Chew@brown.edu 




Mark Bertness
Lab Website
Problems in the population and community
Ecology of marine plants and animals
Mark_Bertness@brown.edu


Elizabeth Brainerd
Lab Website
Functional morphology, comparative physiology, and biomechanics
Elizabeth_Brainerd@brown.edu



Stephen M. Gatesy
Functional morphology, the evolution of the vertebrate locomotor system
Stephen_Gatesy@brown.edu



Christine M. Janis
Emeritus
Vertebrate evolution (especially Cenozoic mammals), craniodental functional morphology, mammalian systematics (especially ungulates
Christine_Janis@brown.edu


Fred Jackson
Plant Environmental Center Website
Director, Plant Environmental Center/Senior Teaching Associate
Fred_Jackson@brown.edu



Rebecca Kartzinel
Assistant Professor (Research)
Plant population genetics, genomics, and ecological epigenetics
rebecca_kartzinel@brown.edu



Tyler Kartzinel
Lab Website
Conservation biology, molecular ecology and the evolution of species interactions
Tyler_Kartzinel@brown.edu


James Kellner
Lab Website
Structure and dynamics of tropical forests, environmental remote sensing
James_R_Kellner@brown.edu


Andrew Leslie
Lab Website
Paleobotany, functional morphology, and evolutionary patterns in seed plant reproductive structures
Andrew_Leslie@brown.edu


Douglass H. Morse
Behavioral ecology: foraging, life history variables, and sexual selection
D_Morse@brown.edu



Stephen Porder
Lab Website
Graduate Program Co-Director
Biogeochemistry, nutrient cycling in tropical forests, interaction between geologic and ecological processes
Stephen_Porder@brown.edu


Sohini Ramachandran
Lab Website
Population genetics and evolutionary theory, applied to human genetic variation
Sohini_Ramachandran@brown.edu


David M. Rand
Lab Website
Department Chair
Molecular ecology and evolution, coevolution of nuclear and mitochondrial genomes, and speciation
David_Rand@brown.edu


Dale Ritter
Anatomy Course Director/Senior Lecturer
Dale_Ritter@brown.edu




Thomas J. Roberts
Lab Website
Department Vice Chair
Biomechanics and energetics of vertebrate movement
Thomas_Roberts@brown.edu


Dov Sax
Lab Website
Species invasions of non-native plants and animals; Evaluating conservation strategies best suited to preserving biodiversity from the novel threats posed by climate change
Dov_Sax@brown.edu


Kate Smith
Lab Website
Conservation Medicine; Disease Ecology; Biogeography; Global Environmental Change
Katherine_Smith@brown.edu


Sharon Swartz
Lab Website
Biomechanics, functional morphology, and the evolution of vertebrate limbs
Sharon_Swartz@brown.edu


Marc Tatar
Life history evolution with an emphasis on Senescence
Marc_Tatar@brown.edu




Daniel M. Weinreich
Lab Website
Graduate Program Co-Director
Darwinian evolution at the level of individual mutations within protein coding genes
Daniel_Weinreich@brown.edu


Jon D. Witman
Population and community ecology, oceanography, and marine biology
Jon_Witman@brown.edu