Concentration Advisors

2018-19 Economics Concentration Advisors

Joaquin Blaum 
Office: Robinson Hall Room 302C  
Office Hours:  Tuesday 4:00 - 5:00pm
Joaquin_Blaum@brown.edu

Kenneth Chay 
Office: 70 Waterman Room 303  
Office Hours: Monday 4:00 - 5:00pm and Wednesday 1:00-2:00pm 
Kenneth_Chay@brown.edu

John Friedman
Office: Robinson Hall Room 304B 
Office Hours: Tuesdays 1:00-2:45 pm
John_Friedman@brown.edu

Glenn Loury 
Office: Robinson Hall Room 105 
Office Hours: By Appointment
Glenn_Loury@brown.edu

Louis Putterman
Office: 70 Waterman Room 301
Office Hours: Tuesday and Thursday 11:00 - 11:50am
Louis_Putterman@brown.edu

Susanne Schennach
Office: 70 Waterman Room 102
Office Hours: By Appt
Susanne_Schennach@brown.edu

Jesse Shapiro 
Office: 70 Waterman Room 302
Office Hours: (See Econ Advising Google Calendar below)
Jesse_Shapiro@brown.edu

David Weil 
Office: Robinson Hall Room 204
Office Hours: Wednesday 2:00 - 4:00pm
David_Weil@brown.edu

Academic Student Programs Advisor

Angelica Spertini
For general advising questions about concentration requirements, the process of applying, the professional track, transfer credits, etc. please see Angelica Spertini.

Office: Robinson Hall 103B
Office Hours: Tuesdays 11:00am-12:00pm and Thursdays 2:00pm-3:00pm
Angelica_Spertini@brown.edu

Applied Math-Economics, Math-Economics, and Computer Science-Economics Concentration Advisors

Roberto Serrano 
Office: Robinson Hall Room 2201B 
Office Hours: Tuesday 9:00 - 12:00pm
Roberto_Serrano@brown.edu

Bobby Pakzad-Hurson
Office: Robinson Hall Room 215
Office Hours: Wednesday 1:30 - 3:30pm
Bobak_Pakzad-Hurson@brown.edu

IR -  Political Economy and Development Concentration Advisor

Louis Putterman
Office: 70 Waterman Room 301 
Office Hours: Tuesday and Thursday 11:00-11:50 or by appointment
Louis_Putterman@brown.edu

BEO Business Economic Track Concentration Advisors

Rafael La Porta
Office: 70 Waterman Room 101
Office Hours: (Please email Professor La Porta to confirm meeting before attending office hoursTuesday-Friday 10:00-11:00 

Brian Knight
Office: Robinson Hall Room 304C 
Office Hours: Monday 9:30-10:30am and Wednesday 3:15-4:15pm
Brian_Knight@brown.edu

Transfer Credit and Study Abroad Advisor

Rachel Friedberg
Office: Robinson Hall 216
Office Hours: Tuesday 10:00am - 11:30am 
Rachel_Friedberg@brown.edu

Ph.D. Track Advisor

Jesse Shapiro
Office: 70 Waterman Room 302 
Office Hours: (See Econ Advising Google Calendar below)
Jesse_Shapiro_1@brown.edu

First Gen Advisor

Bryce Millet Steinberg
Office: Robinson 303B 
Office Hours: Tuesday 1:00-3:00 pm 
Bryce_Steinberg@brown.edu

Academic Support Services  offer a myriad of resources to support Brown students to achieve their academic, intellectual and personal aspirations.