Brown University School of Engineering

CANCELED: Distinguished Pioneering Scholar Series: Howard Stone

Wednesday, April 15, 2020

4:00pm - 5:00pm

School of Engineering

Barus and Holley, 190

Howard A. Stone, the Donald R. Dixon ’69 and Elizabeth W. Dixon Professor in Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering at Princeton, will present a talk: “Seeking Intersections Between Disciplines: ‘Boundaries’ in Multiphase Flows.”

Brown’s School of Engineering Distinguished Pioneering Scholars Seminar Series aims to feature scholars and researchers from academia, national labs, and industry who have made tremendous impact in a field or across disciplines. These individuals are pioneering scholars that have revolutionized a field or transformed our fundamental understanding of scientific phenomena. In addition, the seminar speakers have been celebrated for their intellectual or technological contributions, and have received nationally or internationally recognized honors and distinctions.

Professor Stone received the Bachelor of Science degree in Chemical Engineering from the University of California at Davis in 1982 and the PhD in Chemical Engineering from Caltech in 1988. Following a postdoctoral year in the Department of Applied Mathematics and Theoretical Physics at the University of Cambridge, in 1989 he joined the faculty of the (now) School of Engineering and Applied Sciences at Harvard University, where he eventually became the Vicky Joseph Professor of Engineering and Applied Mathematics. His research interests are in fluid dynamics, especially as they arise in research and applications at the interface of engineering, chemistry, physics, and biology. Professor Stone is a recipient of numerous prestigious awards including the NSF Presidential Young Investigator Award, Joseph R. Levenson Memorial Award, the Phi Beta Kappa teaching Prize, the G.K. Batchelor Prize in Fluid Dynamics and DFD-APS Fluid Dynamics Prize. He is a Fellow of the American Physical Society (APS), and member of the National Academy of Engineering, the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, and the National Academy of Sciences.