Brown University School of Engineering

News from July, 2013

Charles E. Pettinos Award

Carbon Society Honors Professor Robert Hurt

Robert Hurt, professor of engineering and director of the Institute for Molecular and Nanoscale Innovation (IMNI) at Brown University, has received the Charles E. Pettinos Award of the American Carbon Society. The award is given every three years to honor “outstanding research accomplishment of an individual or group in the science and/or technology of carbon materials.” The work for which Hurt was honored focused on liquid-crystal-derived carbon materials, graphene-based materials, and on the biological and environmental implications of carbon nanomaterials.

“It’s All in Our Backyard”

Professor Jeffrey Morgan featured in RIF campaign

The research of Jeffrey Morgan, professor of medical science and co-director of the Center for Biomedical Engineering, is among the positive stories around the state highlighted by the Rhode Island Foundation in a campaign launched Wednesday, July 31, 2013, with the slogan, “It’s All in Our Backyard.”


Sen. Reed visits Brown

BRAIN Initiative:
Less than three months after President Obama announced an initiative to advance brain science research, Sen. Jack Reed paid a visit to Brown to see examples of research at the forefront of the science, including touring the lab of Professor Arto Nurmikko.

Summer Research

Choe '15 uses UTRA to Conduct Engineering Analysis of Bow and Arrow

Ahyoung Choe ’15:

Ahyoung Choe ’15, a mechanical engineering concentrator, is spending her summer in Providence conducting research through an Undergraduate Teaching and Research Award (UTRA). With the help of faculty mentors Professor Allan Bower and Professor K.S. Kim, Choe is conducting experiments and research on the bow and arrow.


School of Engineering to host 2013 Joint SES 50th Annual Technical Meeting and ASME-AMD Annual Meeting

The School of Engineering at Brown University will host the 2013 Joint Society of Engineering Science (SES) 50th Annual Technical Meeting and American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) - Applied Mechanics Division (AMD) annual meeting from July 28-31, 2013, in Providence. Pradeep Guduru, James R. Rice Associate Professor, and Allan Bower, Royce Family Professor of Teaching Excellence and Professor of Engineering, are the conference co-chairs.

Syndicate content Subscribe via RSS feed