Brown University School of Engineering

School of Engineering Faculty Directory

Click on the name of the faculty member to reference their specific information

Professors

Name Title Office Phone Lab Lab Phone E-Mail Faculty assistant


R. Iris Bahar
Professor ERC 333 863-1430 B&H 354; Computer Engineering at LEMS 863-6178 Iris_Bahar@brown.edu

Deb Godino
863-1481
B&H 3N

 

Yuri Bazilevs E. Paul Sorensen Professor of Engineering ERC 232 863-1859 Yuri_Bazilevs@brown.edu Cathy McElroy
863-5437
B&H 6S


Rod Beresford
Senior Associate Dean; Professor B&H 226 

863-1407

B&H 344 863-1494 Rod_Beresford@brown.edu Chantée Weah
863-2495
B&H 241 
Janet Blume Associate Dean of the Faculty; Associate Professor 111 UH 863-2313     Janet_Blume@brown.edu Stephanie Gesualdi
863-1478
B&H 7S
David Borton Assistant Professor B&H 733 863-2963 85 Waterman 307 David_Borton@brown.edu Vy Crawford
863-1501
B&H 7N
Allan Bower Royce Family Professor of Teaching Excellence and Professor of Engineering B&H 731 863-1493     Allan_Bower@brown.edu Stephanie Gesualdi
863-1478
B&H 7S
Kenneth Breuer Professor B&H 433 863-2870

PL223; Breuer Laboratory 


kbreuer@brown.edu Carolyn Sherman
863-1445
B&H 4N 
Clyde Briant Otis E. Randall University Professor B&H 220 863-5734     Clyde_Briant@brown.edu   Stephanie Gesualdi
863-1478
B&H 7S
Eric Chason   Professor B&H 624   863-2317 B&H 611; Chason Laboratory  863-7989 Eric_Chason@brown.edu  Diane Felber
863-1458
B&H 6S 
Vicki L. Colvin Vernon K. Krieble Professor of Chemistry and Engineering; Director, Center for Biomedical Engineering  Vicki_Colvin@brown.edu

Kareen Coulombe
Assistant Professor B&H 618 863-2318

Coulombe Lab

85 Waterman 318, 321, 322, 324

863-5838 Kareen_Coulombe@brown.edu Deb Godino
863-1481
B&H 3N
Pedro F. Felzenszwalb Professor of Engineering and Computer Science B&H 355 863-1531  Computer Vision at LEMS   pff@brown.edu   Deb Godino
863-1481
B&H 3N
Huajian Gao Walter H. Annenberg Professor of Engineering B&H 610   863-2626 Gao Research Group: Nanomechanics of Engineering and Biological Systems    Huajian_Gao@brown.edu   Diane Felber
863-1458
B&H 6S 

C. Franklin Goldsmith
Assistant Professor B&H 251 863-6468 85 Waterman 344 & 346 863-5841 Franklin_Goldsmith@brown.edu Agnes Madriaga
863-1415
B&H 2N 
Pradeep Guduru   Professor  B&H 729   863-3362  ERC 245; Experimental Solid Mechanics Laboratory   863-7316  Pradeep_Guduru@brown.edu  Stephanie Gesualdi
863-1478
B&H 7S
Daniel M. Harris Assistant Professor B&H 439 863-9774 ERC 235B; Harris Lab 863-9754 Daniel_Harris3@brown.edu Carolyn Sherman
863-1445
B&H 4N 
David Henann James R. Rice Assistant Professor of Engineering B&H 604 863-1475 David_Henann@brown.edu Cathy McElroy
863-5437
B&H 6S
Leigh Hochberg  Professor  2 Stimson  863-6944  BrainGate2 Website    Leigh_Hochberg@brown.edu   Agnes Madriaga
863-1415
B&H 2N 
Robert Hurt   Professor; Director, Brown Superfund Program B&H 239  863-2685  ERC 215; Laboratory for Environmental and Health Nanoscience 863-3991  Robert_Hurt@brown.edu   Agnes Madriaga
863-1415
B&H 2N 

Haneesh Kesari
Assistant Professor B&H 612 863-1418 B&H 744   Hanesh_Kesari@brown.edu Cathy McElroy
863-5437
B&H 6S
Kyung-Suk Kim   Professor; Director, Center for Advanced Materials Research (CAMR) B&H 606   863-1456   B&H 732; Nano and Micromechanics Laboratory  863-2865  Kyung-Suk_Kim@brown.edu   Stephanie Gesualdi
863-1478
B&H 7S
Benjamin Kimia   Professor  B&H 320   863-1353   B&H 317; Computer Vision at LEMS   863-6179   Benjamin_Kimia@brown.edu  Diane Felber
863-1458
B&H 6S
Angus Kingon  Barrett Hazeltine University Professor of Entrepreneurship and Organizational Studies; Director, BEO Program; Co-Director PRIME Program   B&H 602   863-1419  B&H 503 and B&H 607    angus@brown.edu   Cathy McElroy
863-5437
B&H 6S
Sharvan Kumar   Professor  B&H 620   863-2862   ERC 312   Sharvan_Kumar@brown.edu  Diane Felber
863-1458
B&H 6S
Larry Larson   Sorensen Family Dean of Engineering; Professor of Engineering  B&H 306    B&H 225    Lawrence_Larson@brown.edu  Allison Walsh
863-2276 B&H 3S
Jonghwan Lee Assistant Professor B&H 224 863-9055 85 Waterman, 342; Lee Lab for Biomedical Optics and Neuroengineering Jonghwan_Lee@brown.edu Deb Godino
863-1481
B&H 3N
Joseph Liu   Professor  B&H 429   863-2654       Joseph_Liu@brown.edu   Carolyn Sherman
863-1445
B&H 4N
Shreyas Mandre   Assistant Professor  B&H 443  863-2602  PL112; Mandre Research Group     Shreyas_Mandre@brown.edu  Carolyn Sherman
863-1445
B&H 4N
Daniel Mittleman Professor B&H 228

863-9056

Mittleman Laboratory Daniel_Mittleman@brown.edu Agnes Madriaga
863-1415
B&H 2N
Arto Nurmikko  L. Herbert Ballou University Professor of Engineering and Physics  B&H 233   863-2869   Nanophotonics and Neuroengineering Laboratory    Arto_Nurmikko@brown.edu   Agnes Madriaga
863-1415
B&H 2N

Domenico Pacifici
  
Associate Professor  B&H 249  863-2637  B&H 246, B&H 252; Pacifici Research Group     Domenico_Pacifici@brown.edu  Deb Godino
863-1481
B&H 3N
Nitin Padture   Otis E. Randall University Professor; Director, Institute for Molecular and Nanoscale Innovation (IMNI)  B&H 608   863-2859   ERC 314A, 314, 315A, 315; Advanced Ceramics and Nanomaterials Laboratory 863-1398  Nitin_Padture@brown.edu  Cathy McElroy
863-5437
B&H 6S

David Paine
  
Professor  B&H 622 and UH 311  863-1457 and 863-6130   B&H 515-519     David_Paine@brown.edu   Diane Felber
863-1458
B&H 6S

G. Tayhas R. Palmore
  
Professor of Engineering and Medical Science; Professor of Chemistry  B&H 628  863-2856   B&H 511   863-1861   Tayhas_Palmore@brown.edu  Diane Felber
863-1458
B&H 6S
Kurt Pennell 250th Anniversary Professor of Engineering ERC 231 863-9034 ERC 215, 235A Kurt_Pennell@brown.edu

Carolyn Sherman
863-1445
B&H 4N

Andrew Peterson  Associate Professor  B&H 247  863-2153  PL 139 & 139A; Catalyst Design Laboratory  863-2410  Andrew_Peterson@brown.edu  Agnes Madriaga
863-1415
B&H 2N
Thomas Powers Professor of Engineering and Physics B&H 445 863-2868     Thomas_Powers@brown.edu Carolyn Sherman
863-1445
B&H 4N
Sherief Reda  Associate Professor  B&H 349  863-1455  B&H 340; Scalable Computing Systems Laboratory (SCALE); Computer Engineering at LEMS  863-9467  Sherief_Reda@brown.edu   Deb Godino
863-1481
B&H 3N
Christopher Rose Professor; Associate Dean of the Faculty for Special Initiatives B&H 206 863-9054 Rose Group: A World of Bits -- wireless and beyond
Christopher_Rose@brown.edu Chantée Weah
863-2495
B&H 241 
Jacob Rosenstein Assistant Professor B&H 353  863-2652  B&H 446; Rosenstein Laboratory for Embedded BioelectronicsComputer Engineering at LEMS   Jacob_Rosenstein@brown.edu Deb Godino
863-1481
B&H 3N
Brian W. Sheldon   Professor  B&H 626   863-2866   ERC 313  863-1169  Brian_Sheldon@brown.edu  Diane Felber
863-1458
B&H 6S
Anita Shukla Assistant Professor B&H 749 863-5719 85 Waterman 320, 321, 324, 330, 341, 341A; Shukla Lab for Designer Biomaterials Anita_Shukla@brown.edu Diane Felber
863-1458
B&H 6S
Harvey Silverman   Professor; Director of LEMS    B&H 324   863-1431   B&H 321 (LEMS); Computer Engineering at LEMS   863-3918  hfs@lems.brown.edu   Carolyn Sherman
863-1445
B&H 4N
Vikas Srivastava Assistant Professor B&H 739 863-2863 MRL 104; Srivastava Lab for Biomedical Systems and Engineering Structures Vikas_Srivastava@brown.edu Vy Crawford
863-1501
B&H 7N

Eric Suuberg
  
C.V. Starr Professor of Technology Entrepreneurship; Professor of Engineering; Associate Director, Brown Superfund Program; Co-Director, PRIME Program   B&H 253  863-1420   ERC 215; Suuberg Laboratory  863-3977  Eric_Suuberg@brown.edu  Agnes Madriaga
863-1415
B&H 2N

Gabriel Taubin

Professor of Engineering and Professor of Computer Science   B&H 328  401-484-8201  Computer Vision at LEMS    taubin@brown.edu   Deb Godino
863-1481
B&H 3N

Anubhav Tripathi
  
Professor; EMSTL Executive Academic Director   B&H 431  863-3063  MRL 106A & B, 107, 112, PL132; Biomedical Engineering Laboratory    Anubhav_Tripathi@brown.edu  Carolyn Sherman
863-1445
B&H 4N 
Axel van de Walle   Professor  B&H 743  863-1476  Virtual Materials Laboratory      Vy Crawford
863-1501
B&H 7N
Ian Wong Assistant Professor B&H 747 863-5718 MRL 304, 305, 307; Wong Laboratory Ian_Wong@brown.edu Vy Crawford
863-1501
B&H 7N
Jimmy Xu   Charles C. Tillinghast Jr. '32 University Professor, Engineering and Physics  B&H 451   863-1439   B&H 432; Laboratory for Emerging Technologies   863-3010   Jimmy_Xu@brown.edu   Carolyn Sherman
863-1445
B&H 4N

Alexander Zaslavsky
  
Professor of Engineering and Physics  B&H 222   863-1406   B&H 603, B&H 632; Zaslavsky Laboratory   863-3227   Alexander_Zaslavsky@brown.edu  Chantée Weah
863-2495
B&H 241
Rashid Zia   Associate Professor of Engineering and Physics; Dean of the College   B&H 237  863-6351  B&H 045; Zia Laboratory  863-1497  Rashid_Zia@brown.edu   Deb Godino
863-1481
B&H 3N

Professors (Research)

Name Title Office Phone Lab Lab Phone E-Mail faculty assistant
Bruce Caswell Professor Emeritus, Professor (Research) B&H 228 863-1448     caswell@cfm.brown.edu
Rodney Clifton Professor Emeritus, Professor (Research) B&H 208 863-2855 PS 124 863-3034  Rodney_Clifton@brown.edu Cathy McElroy
863-5437
B&H 6S
David Cooper Professor Emeritus, Professor (Research) B&H 318 863-2601 B&H 317; SHAPE Lab; Computer Vision at LEMS 863-6179, 863-2177 cooper@lems.brown.edu Chantée Weah
863-2495
B&H 241
Seunghyun Kim Associate Professor (Research) B&H 614 863-2857     Seunghyun_Kim@brown.edu Cathy McElroy
863-5437
B&H 6S
Nabil Lawandy Professor of Engineering and Physics (Research)         Nlawandy@spsy.com
Rajind Mendis Assistant Professor of Engineering (Research)   Rajind_Mendis@brown.edu Agnes Madriaga
863-1415
B&H 2N 
Derek Merck Assistant Professor of Engineering (Research) 444-4472 RIH 3D Lab Derek_Merck@brown.edu
John Simeral Assistant Professor (Research) 2 Stimson 863-6945 BrainGate2 Website    John_Simeral@Brown.edu
Yuanyuan Zhou Assistant Professor (Research) Yuanyuan_Zhou@brown.edu
Cathy McElroy
863-5437
B&H 6S

Professors of the Practice

Name Title Office Phone Lab Lab Phone E-Mail faculty assistant







Ian Gonsher
Assistant Professor of the Practice



Ian_Gonsher@brown.edu Stephanie Gesualdi
863-1478
B&H 7S

Jason Harry

Professor of the Practice B&H 741 863-1347 Jason_Harry@brown.edu Stephanie Gesualdi
863-1478
B&H 7S

Patrick McHugh
Professor of the Practice; Executive Director IE/Brown Executive MBA Program
863-5057     Patrick_McHugh@brown.edu







Danny Warshay
Professor of the Practice



Daniel_Warshay@brown.edu

Joint/Affiliated Faculty

Name Title Office Phone Lab Lab Phone E-Mail
J.J. Trey Crisco Henry Frederick Lippitt Professor of Orthopaedic Research; Director Bioengineering Lab, Dept. of Orthopaedics Coro West 404 444-4231 Bioengineering Lab   Joseph_Crisco@brown.edu
Eric Darling Manning Assistant Professor of Molecular Pharmacology, Physiology, and Biotechnology, Assistant Professor of Engineering (courtesy), Assistant Professor of Orthopaedics (courtesy), Director of Biomedical Engineering Graduate Program Bio-Med Center 397 863-6818 Darling Lab; Bio-Med Center 377 863-6807 Eric_Darling@brown.edu
Michelle Dawson Assistant Professor of Molecular Pharmacology, Physiology and Biotechnology and Assistant Professor of Engineering (courtesy) 863-6829 Michelle_Dawson@brown.edu
John Donoghue Henry Merritt Wriston Professor of Neuroscience and Engineering (Joint) and Director of Brown Institute for Brown Science   863-2701 Donoghue Lab; Braingate2 Website    John_Donoghue@Brown.edu
Gregory Jay, M.D., PhD Professor of Engineering (Research) and Professor of Emergency Medicine Coro West Suite 106 401-444-6656 Coro West 4.303 401-444-5910  gjay@lifespan.org
Diane Hoffman-Kim Associate Professor of Medical Science and Engineering (Joint)  BioMed 863-9395 Hoffman-Kim Laboratory    Diane_Hoffman-Kim@brown.edu

Edith Mathiowitz
Professor of Medical Science and Engineering (Joint)   863-1358     Edith_Mathiowitz@brown.edu
Martin Maxey Professor of Applied Mathematics and Engineering (Joint); Director of the Center for Fluid Mechanics, Turbulence, and Computation     863-1482     Martin_Maxey@brown.edu
Jeffrey Morgan Professor of Medical Science and Engineering (Joint) BioMed 863-9879     Jeffrey_Morgan@brown.edu
Derek Stein
Associate Professor of Physics and Engineering
B&H 712 401-863-2581 Derek_Stein@brown.edu
Shouheng Sun Professor of Chemistry and Engineering (Joint)   863-3329     Shouheng_Sun@brown.edu

Selim Suner
Assistant Professor of Emergency Medicine, Surgery and Engineering (Joint) BioMed 401-639-3483     SSuner@brown.edu


Sharon Swartz
Professor of Biology and Engineering (Joint)  BioMed 863-1582 Aeromechanics and Evolutionary Morphology Laboratory   Sharon_Swartz@brown.edu
Jay Tang Assistant Professor of Physics and Engineering (Joint)   863-2292 Tang Biophysics Laboratory    Jay_Tang@brown.edu
Stefanie Tellex

Assistant Professor of Computer Science (Courtesy)

Stefanie_Tellex@brown.edu
Gang Xiao Professor of Physics and Engineering (Joint); Director of the Center for Nanoscience and Soft Matter   863-2586     Gang_Xiao@brown.edu

Lecturers

Name Title Office Office Phone Lab Lab Phone E-Mail Faculty assistant
Christopher Bull Director of the Brown Design Workshop; Senior Lecturer PL 207 863-2572 PL 221   cbull@brown.edu Vy Crawford
863-1501
B&H 7N
Celinda Kofron Lecturer Celinda_Kofron@brown.edu Carolyn Sherman
863-1445
B&H 4N 
Indrek Kulaots Senior Lecturer B&H 735 863-2674     Indrek_Kulaots@brown.edu Stephanie Gesualdi
863-1478
B&H 7S
William Patterson Senior Research Engineer and Senior Lecturer B&H 449 863-1449     William_Patterson@brown.edu Carolyn Sherman
863-1445
B&H 4N

Adjunct Faculty

Name Title Office Office Phone E-Mail Faculty assistant
Robert Allio Adjunct Lecturer     Robert_Allio@brown.edu
Howard Anderson Adjunct Lecturer     Howard_Anderson@brown.edu
Jason Bacon Adjunct Lecturer     Jason_Bacon@brown.edu
Brian Burke Adjunct Lecturer     Brian_Burke@brown.edu Stephanie Gesualdi
863-1478
B&H 7S
Thano A. D. Chaltas Adjunct Lecturer B&H 322   Thano_Chaltas@brown.edu Cathy McElroy
863-5437
B&H 6S








Jon Cohen
Adjunct Lecturer     Jon_Cohen@brown.edu




William Curtin
Adjunct Professor     William_Curtin@brown.edu Stephanie Gesualdi
863-1478
B&H 7S
David Durfee Adjunct Lecturer     David_Durfee@brown.edu Diane Felber
863-1458
B&H 6S





Rick Fleeter
Adjunct Associate Professor     Rick_Fleeter@brown.edu
Joseph Fontaine Adjunct Lecturer  
Joseph_Fontaine@Brown.edu Stephanie Gesualdi
863-1478
B&H 7S
Jason Gaudette Adjunct Lecturer Jason_Gaudette@brown.edu

Karen Haberstroh
Adjunct Lecturer; Associate Director, Engineering Programs (School of Professional Studies)
863-1842 Karen_Marie_Haberstroh@brown.edu Stephanie Gesualdi
863-1478
B&H 7S
Steven Petteruti Adjunct Lecturer     Steven_Petteruti@brown.edu
Rachid E. Rayess Adjunct Lecturer     Rachid_Rayess@brown.edu
Raymond Roberts Adjunct Lecturer     Raymond_Roberts@brown.edu

Fran Slutsky

Adjunct Lecturer     Fran_Slutsky@brown.edu

 

Christina Smith Adjunct Lecturer     Christina_Smith2@brown.edu
Marek Wojtowicz Adjunct Lecturer     Marek_Wojtowicz@brown.edu
Ahmed Zaki Adjunct Lecturer     Ahmed_Zaki@brown.edu

Emeriti Faculty

Name Title Office Office Phone Lab Lab Phone E-Mail Faculty assistant
Bruce Caswell Professor Emeritus, Professor (Research) B&H 118 863-2629     caswell@cfm.brown.edu
Rodney Clifton

Professor Emeritus, Professor (Research)

B&H 208 863-2855 PL 124 863-3034 Rodney_Clifton@brown.edu Cathy McElroy
863-5437
B&H 6S
David Cooper Professor Emeritus, Professor (Research) B&H 118 863-2629 B&H 317; SHAPE Lab; Computer Vision at LEMS
cooper@lems.brown.edu Chantée Weah
863-2495
B&H 241
Jerry Daniels Associate Professor Emeritus

CG 095 863-9852 Jerry_Daniels@brown.edu Chantée Weah
863-2495
B&H 241








L.B. Freund
Professor Emeritus         freund@brown.edu
Barrett Hazeltine Professor Emeritus B&H 326 863-2673     Barrett_Hazeltine@brown.edu Cathy McElroy
863-5437
B&H 6S
Laurenz Hermann Lecturer Emeritus         Laurenz_Hermann@brown.edu
Sture K. F. Karlsson Professor Emeritus         Sture_Karlsson@brown.edu 
Ted Morse Professor Emeritus 401-635-2732 / 617- 358-1035 Theodore_Morse@brown.edu
Alan Needleman Professor Emeritus Alan_Needleman@brown.edu
Allan Pearson Professor Emeritus

    Allan_Pearson@brown.edu;
mpearson@wheatonma.edu
Peter Damian Richardson  Professor Emeritus of Engineering and Physiology      
    Peter_Richardson@brown.edu  Chantée Weah
863-2495
B&H 241
Marc Richman Professor Emeritus         Marc_Richman@brown.edu 

William Wolovich
Professor Emeritus

    William_Wolovich@brown.edu

Visiting Faculty

Name Title Office Office Phone host E-Mail
Ulya Karpuzcu Visiting Professor ERC 231   Ulya_Karpuzcu@brown.edu
Naeem Zafar Visiting Professor of the Practice B&H 114 408-218-1920 Naeem_Zafar@brown.edu