Nonfiction Awards and Prizes

BARBARA BANKS BRODSKY PRIZE for Excellence in Real World Writing - Awarded to a full-time junior or senior enrolled at Brown. Submission may come from the spectrum of nonfiction: literary journalism, memoir, or narrative based on travel, science, history, or cultural critique. 

THE CASEY SHEARER MEMORIAL AWARD FOR Excellence in Creative Nonfiction - Awarded to a full-time Brown junior or senior for creative nonfiction of 3,000 words or less.  Submission can be a collection of brief pieces or one long piece.

CASEY SHEARER AWARDS for Excellence in Creative Nonfiction -  This lecture series honors the memory of Casey Shearer ’00, a promising young writer and aspiring sportscaster who died May 23, 2000, just days before he was to graduate from Brown. Previous speakers have included Pulitzer Prize-winning biographer A. Scott Berg, ESPN anchor Chris Berman, New York Times columnist Thomas Friedman, ABC analyst Cokie Roberts, Marian Wright Edelman of the Children’s Defense Fund, film director Davis Guggenheim, NPR national political correspondent Mara Liasson, food activist Curt Ellis, writer Pico Iyer, and filmmaker Jeff Zimbalist. More about Casey Shearer as well as his collected essays can be found here. 

DAVID ROME PRIZE - For the best lyric essay by a currently enrolled undergraduate at Brown. This form includes essays written in poetical or experimental forms that emphasize artfulness.

ROSE LOW ROME PRIZE - For the best poem or poems by a currently enrolled undergraduate at Brown.