Faculty

German Studies Faculty

Omer Bartov
John P. Birkelund Distinguished Professor of European History and Professor of History and German Studies
Omer_Bartov@Brown.EDU

Susan Bernstein
Director of Graduate Studies  

Professor of Comparative Literature and German Studies
Susan_Bernstein@Brown.EDU

Thomas Kniesche
Associate Professor of German Studies
Thomas_Kniesche@Brown.EDU

Edith Anna Kunz
Max Kade Distinguished Visiting Professor of German Studies (Fall 2018)
Edith_Anna_Kunz@brown.edu

Kevin McLaughlin
Dean of the Faculty
George Hazard Crooker Professor of English, Comparative Literature, and German Studies
Kevin_McLaughlin@Brown.EDU

Kristina Mendicino
Director of Undergraduate Studies

Andrew W. Mellon Assistant Professor of German Studies and Humanities
Kristina_Mendicino@Brown.EDU

Gerhard Richter  
Professor of German Studies and Comparative Literature
Gerhard_Richter@Brown.EDU

Thomas Schestag
Professor of German Studies
Thomas_Schestag@Brown.EDU

Zachary Sng
Department Chair

Associate Professor of German Studies and Comparative Literature
Zachary_Sng@Brown.EDU

Jane Sokolosky
Distinguished Senior Lecturer in German Studies
Jane_Sokolosky@Brown.EDU

Michael P. Steinberg
Vice Provost for the Arts; Barnaby Conrad and Mary Critchfield Keeney Professor of History and Professor of Music and German Studies
Michael_Steinberg@Brown.EDU

Visiting Assistant Faculty

Jonathan Fine - AY2018/2019
Visiting Assistant Professor, German Studies

Stephanie Galasso - Spring 2019
Visiting Assistant Professor, German Studies


 Recent Visiting Professors (since 2011)

Alexander García Düttmann
Max Kade Distinguished Visiting Professor
Universität der Künste Berlin

Rembert Hüser
Max Kade Distinguished Visiting Professor
Universität Frankfurt

Christine Ivanovic
Max Kade Distinguished Visiting Professor
University of Vienna

Sven Kramer
 Max Kade Distinguished Visiting Professor
Leuphana Universität


David Farrell Krell
Brauer Distinguished Visiting Professor of German
Studies

Dirk Oschmann
Max Kade Distinguished Visiting Professor
Universität Leipzig

Dieter Thomä
Max Kade Distinguished Visiting Professor
Universität St. Gallen

Affiliated Faculty

Mary Gluck
Professor of History
Mary_Gluck@brown.edu

Paul Guyer

Nelson Professor of Humanities and Philosophy
Paul_Guyer@Brown.EDU

Charles Larmore
W. Duncan MacMillan Family Professor in the
Humanities, Professor of Philosophy
Charles_Larmore@brown.edu

Marc Redfield
Professor of English and Comparative Literature
Marc_Redfield@brown.edu

Bernard Reginster
Professor of Philosophy
Bernard_Reginster@brown.edu

Hilary Silver
Professor of Sociology
Hilary_Silver@brown.edu

Emeriti

William Crossgrove
Professor Emeritus
William_Crossgrove@brown.edu

Katherine R. Goodman
Professor Emeritus
Katherine_Goodman@brown.edu

Frederick Love
Professor Emeritus

Carol Jean Poore
Professor Emeritus
Carol_Poore@brown.edu

Duncan Smith
Professor Emeritus

Albert Schmitt
Professor Emeritus

Staff

Wendy B. Perelman
Academic Department Manager
Wendy_Perelman@brown.edu