Faculty

German Studies Faculty

Omer Bartov

John P. Birkelund Distinguished Professor of European History and Professor of History and German Studies
Omer_Bartov@Brown.EDU

Susan Bernstein

Professor of Comparative Literature and German Studies
Susan_Bernstein@Brown.EDU

Aminia Brueggemann

Visiting Assistant Professor of German Studies
Aminia_Brueggemann@Brown.EDU
(on leave AY2015-16)

Alexander Garcia Düttmann

Max Kade Distinguished Visiting Professor
of German Studies 
(Fall 2016)

Max Kade Distinguished Visiting Professor of German Studies (Spring 2016)


Thomas Kniesche

Associate Professor of German Studies
Thomas_Kniesche@Brown.EDU

David Farrell Krell

Brauer Distinguished Visiting Professor of German
Studies


Kevin McLaughlin

Dean of the Faculty; Nicholas Brown Professor of Oratory and Belles Lettres and Professor of English, Comparative Literature, and German Studies
Kevin_McLaughlin@Brown.EDU

Kristina Mendicino

(Director of Undergraduate Studies)

Assistant Professor of German Studies
Kristina_Mendicino@Brown.EDU

Gerhard Richter (Department Chair)

Professor of German Studies and Comparative Literature
Gerhard_Richter@Brown.EDU

Thomas Schestag (Director of Graduate Studies)

Associate Professor of German Studies
Thomas_Schestag@Brown.EDU 

Zachary Sng

Associate Professor of German Studies and Comparative Literature
Zachary_Sng@Brown.EDU

Jane Sokolosky

Senior Lecturer in German Studies
Jane_Sokolosky@Brown.EDU

Michael P. Steinberg

Vice Provost for the Arts; Barnaby Conrad and Mary Critchfield Keeney Professor of History and Professor of Music and German Studies
Michael_Steinberg@Brown.EDU

Affiliated Faculty

Mary Gluck

Professor of History
Mary_Gluck@Brown.EDU

Paul Guyer

Nelson Professor of Humanities and Philosophy
Paul_Guyer@Brown.EDU

Charles Larmore

W. Duncan MacMillan Family Professor in the Humanities, Professor of Philosophy
Charles_Larmore@Brown.EDU 

Marc Redfield

Professor of English and Comparative Literature
Marc_Redfield@Brown.EDU

Bernard Reginster

Professor of Philosophy
Bernard_Reginster@Brown.EDU

Hilary Silver

Professor of Sociology
Hilary_Silver@Brown.EDU

Emeriti

William Crossgrove

Professor Emeritus
William_Crossgrove@Brown.EDU

Katherine R. Goodman

Professor Emeritus
Katherine_Goodman@Brown.EDU

Frederick Love

Professor Emeritus

Carol Jean Poore

Professor Emeritus
Carol_Poore@Brown.EDU

Duncan Smith

Professor Emeritus

Albert Schmitt

Professor Emeritus

Staff

Wendy B. Perelman

Academic Department Manager
Wendy_Perelman@Brown.EDU