Faculty

German Studies Faculty

Omer Bartov
John P. Birkelund Distinguished Professor of European History and Professor of History and German Studies
Omer_Bartov@Brown.EDU

Susan Bernstein
Professor of Comparative Literature and German Studies
Susan_Bernstein@Brown.EDU

Christine Ivanovic
Max Kade Distinguised Visiting Professor of
German Studies
Fall 2017

Thomas Kniesche (Acting Director of Graduate Studies)
Associate Professor of German Studies
Thomas_Kniesche@Brown.EDU

David Farrell Krell
Brauer Distinguished Visiting Professor of German
Studies

Kevin McLaughlin
Dean of the Faculty
George Hazard Crooker Professor of English, Comparative Literature, and German Studies
Kevin_McLaughlin@Brown.EDU

Kristina Mendicino (Director of Undergraduate Studies)
Andrew W. Mellon Assistant Professor of German Studies and Humanities
Kristina_Mendicino@Brown.EDU

Gerhard Richter (Department Chair)
Professor of German Studies and Comparative Literature
Gerhard_Richter@Brown.EDU

Thomas Schestag
Professor of German Studies
Thomas_Schestag@Brown.EDU

Zachary Sng
Associate Professor of German Studies and Comparative Literature
Zachary_Sng@Brown.EDU

Jane Sokolosky
Distinguished Senior Lecturer in German Studies
Jane_Sokolosky@Brown.EDU

Michael P. Steinberg
Vice Provost for the Arts; Barnaby Conrad and Mary Critchfield Keeney Professor of History and Professor of Music and German Studies
Michael_Steinberg@Brown.EDU

Visiting Assistant Faculty

Benjamin Brand
Visiting Assistant Professor of German Studies

Dennis Johannssen
Visiting Assistant Professor of German Studies

Natalie Lozinski-Veach
Visiting Assistant Professor of German Studies

Marcel Schmid
Visiting Scholar

 Recent Max Kade Distinguished Visiting Professors (since 2011)

Alexander García Düttmann
Universität der Künste Berlin

Rembert Hüser
Universität Frankfurt

Sven Kramer
Leuphana Universität

Dirk Oschmann
Universität Leipzig

Dieter Thomä
Universität St. Gallen

Affiliated Faculty

Mary Gluck
Professor of History
Mary_Gluck@brown.edu

Paul Guyer

Nelson Professor of Humanities and Philosophy
Paul_Guyer@Brown.EDU

Charles Larmore
W. Duncan MacMillan Family Professor in the
Humanities, Professor of Philosophy
Charles_Larmore@brown.edu

Marc Redfield
Professor of English and Comparative Literature
Marc_Redfield@brown.edu

Bernard Reginster
Professor of Philosophy
Bernard_Reginster@brown.edu

Hilary Silver
Professor of Sociology
Hilary_Silver@brown.edu

Emeriti

William Crossgrove
Professor Emeritus
William_Crossgrove@brown.edu

Katherine R. Goodman
Professor Emeritus
Katherine_Goodman@brown.edu

Frederick Love
Professor Emeritus

Carol Jean Poore
Professor Emeritus
Carol_Poore@brown.edu

Duncan Smith
Professor Emeritus

Albert Schmitt
Professor Emeritus

Staff

Wendy B. Perelman
Academic Department Manager
Wendy_Perelman@brown.edu