News & Announcements

Welcome to the News and Announcements section for the Department of Hispanic Studies. 

Here you will be able to learn more about:
the current research of our Faculty, book launches and Faculty Prize Winners;
our Graduate Students;
our Undergraduates.

Please click on the above links or the sub headings to the left to learn more.

Assistant Professor (nineteenth- to early twentieth-century century Spanish literature and culture)
The Department of Hispanic Studies at Brown University invites applications for an assistant professor, tenure-track, in the field of nineteenth- to early twentieth-century century Spanish literature and culture. We are interested in scholars of peninsular Spain with a broad global perspective who will enhance Brown and the department's commitment to inclusive research and teaching.  Applicants whose work focuses on any of the following areas are particularly welcome: literary and cultural exchanges between Spain and Africa, Asia, the Caribbean, or Mexico; discourses of gender, race, and nation; literary and artistic modernism and cosmopolitanism. We also welcome candidates who would complement the department's cross-disciplinary strengths in performance, visual, urban, or environmental studies.  

A PhD in Spanish or equivalent degree is required by the position start date, July 1, 2018. The successful applicant will demonstrate exceptional promise as a rigorous and dynamic scholar and an innovative, dedicated teacher and mentor of undergraduates and graduate students. The successful candidate will also show a commitment to outreach beyond the classroom and contribute to the intellectual life of the department and wider university. Near-native or native Spanish fluency is expected.

Application Instructions
Applications must be made online at For full consideration, applications should be submitted by November 5. Review of applications will begin on that date and continue until the position is filled or the search is closed. Required materials include: a letter of application, curriculum vitae, a one-page dissertation abstract; one writing sample (30 pages maximum), and three letters of reference. Short-listed candidates will be interviewed via video conference in December.