Institute at Brown for Environment and SocietyIBES

Affiliate Fellows

Steven Clemens

Associate Professor of Earth, Environmental, and Planetary Sciences (Research)

Global climate change, Monsoon variability, Paleoclimate, Paleoceanography

steven_clemens@brown.edu

Jeff Colgan

Richard Holbrooke Associate Professor of Political Science and International Studies
Associate Professor of Political Science and International and Public Affairs

jeff_colgan@brown.edu

Justine Hastings

Professor of International and Public Affairs
Professor of Economics
Director of Rhode Island Innovative Policy Lab

Industrial organization, Energy markets, Environmental and public policy design

Justine_Hastings@brown.edu
401-863-2691
http://www.justinehastings.com/

Richard Locke

Provost
Professor of Political Science and International and Public Affairs

Globalization and labor standards, Sustainability, Global supply chains

Richard_Locke@brown.edu
401-863-2706
https://vivo.brown.edu/display/rmlocke

G. Tayhas R. Palmore

Professor of Engineering
Professor of Chemistry

Batteries, Bioelectronics, Biomaterials, Capacitors, Electrochemisty, Energy, Enzymes, Fuel cells, Laccase, Materials

Tayhas_Palmore@brown.edu
401-863-2856
https://vivo.brown.edu/display/trpalmor

Elizabeth Rush

Visiting Lecturer in English

Climate change, Sea level rise, Front-line communities, Wetlands, Creative nonfiction, Environmental journalism, Community engaged learning

Elizabeth_Rush@brown.edu
401-863-2393
http://elizabethrush.net/

David Savitz

Professor of Epidemiology
Professor of Obstetrics and Gynecology

Environmental influences on pregnancy, Children's environmental health, Health effects of nonionizing radiation

David_Savitz@brown.edu
401-863-6090
https://vivo.brown.edu/display/dsavitz

Andrew Scherer

Associate Professor of Anthropology
Associate Professor of Archaeology and the Ancient World

Bioarchaeology, Landscape archaeology, Ancient subsistence, War and violence, Mexico, Guatemala

andrew_scherer@brown.edu

Katherine Smith

Associate Dean of Biology Undergraduate Education
Assistant Professor of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology (Research)

Biogeography, Conservation medicine, Ecology, Environmental change, Global health, Infectious disease, Invasive species

Katherine_Smith@brown.edu
401-863-5957
https://vivo.brown.edu/display/ks18

Daniel Spade

Assistant Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine

Mechanisms of reproductive toxicity, Male reproductive system development, Phthalates

daniel_spade@brown.edu

Terrie Fox Wetle

Professor of Health Services, Policy and Practice
Dean of the School of Public Health

Health of aging populations, Environmental impact on maintenance of healthy behaviors

Terrie_Wetle@brown.edu
401-863-9858
https://vivo.brown.edu/display/twetle

Timothy Whitfeld

Assistant Professor of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology (Research)

Documenting Rhode Island plant diversity, Dynamics of tropical forests, Herbarium collections

timothy_whitfeld@brown.edu
401-863-2375
https://vivo.brown.edu/display/twhitfel

Brown University
More about Brown University