Institute at Brown for Environment and SocietyIBES

Elected Fellows

Anna Aizer

Professor of Economics

Medicaid, Child health, Child support, Domestic violence, Poverty, Welfare

Anna_Aizer@brown.edu
401-863-9529
https://vivo.brown.edu/display/anaizer

Joseph Braun

Assistant Professor of Epidemiology

Children's environmental health, Endocrine disrupting chemicals, Neurodevelopment, Obesity

Joseph_Braun_1@brown.edu
401-863-5397
https://vivo.brown.edu/display/jb93

Andrew Foster

Professor of Economics
Director of the Population Studies and Training Center

Voluntary certification, Scale economies, Intergenerational economic mobility

Andrew_Foster@brown.edu
401-863-2537
https://vivo.brown.edu/display/afoster

Baylor Fox-Kemper

Associate Professor of Earth, Environmental and Planetary Sciences

Climate, Oceans, Modeling, Turbulence, Waves

Baylor_Fox-Kemper@brown.edu
401-863-3979
http://www.geo.brown.edu/research/Fox-Kemper/

Timothy Herbert

Henry L. Doherty Professor of Oceanography
Professor of Environmental Studies
Professor of Earth, Environmental and Planetary Sciences

El Niño climate cycle, Ocean temperature change, Ocean carbon cycle, Natural climate variability

Timothy_Herbert@brown.edu
401-863-1207
https://vivo.brown.edu/display/therbert

Yongsong Huang

Professor of Earth, Environmental and Planetary Sciences

Analytical organic geochemistry, Astrobiology, Biogeochemistry, Organic geochemistry, Paleoclimatology, Paleoenvironment

Yongsong_Huang@brown.edu
401-863-3822
https://vivo.brown.edu/display/yohuang

Robert Hurt

Professor of Engineering

Carbon materials, Environmental nanotechnology, Graphene, Materials in energy systems, Mesogenic materials, Nanotoxicology

Robert_Hurt@brown.edu
401-863-2685
https://vivo.brown.edu/display/rhurt

Nancy Jacobs

Professor of History

Colonial African history, Southern African history, Animal history, Environmental history, History of science

Nancy_Jacobs@brown.edu
401-863-9342
https://vivo.brown.edu/display/njacobs

Agnes Kane

Professor of Medical Science

Environmental and human health impacts of nanoparticles, Environmental exposures and lung disease, Models for assessing toxicity of environmental pollutants

Agnes_Kane@brown.edu
401-863-1110
https://vivo.brown.edu/display/akane

Karl Kelsey

Professor of Epidemiology
Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
Director of Center for Environmental Health and Technology

Molecular epidemiology, Biomarkers, Epigenetics

Karl_Kelsey@brown.edu
401-863-6420
https://vivo.brown.edu/display/ktkelsey

Jung-Eun Lee

Assistant Professor of Earth, Environmental and Planetary Sciences

Chlorophyll fluorescence, Climate, Climate modeling, Crop yield and climate, Disease outbreaks and climate, Global water cycle, Mountains and climate, Paleoclimate, Plants and climate, Remote sensing, Stable isotopes

Jung-Eun_Lee@brown.edu
401-863-6465
https://vivo.brown.edu/display/jl322

John Logan

Professor of Sociology

Disaster, Urban sustainability, Population

John_Logan@brown.edu
401-863-2267
https://vivo.brown.edu/display/jlogan

John Bradley Marston

Professor of Physics

Climate modeling, Condensed matter theory, Fluid dynamics, Many-body physics, Nonequilibrium physics, Strong correlations

John_Marston@brown.edu
401-863-2061
https://vivo.brown.edu/display/jmarston

John Mustard

Professor of Earth, Environmental and Planetary Sciences
Professor of Environmental Studies

Earth, environmental and planetary processes, How the Earth is changing due to natural and human forces, Remote sensing, Spatial and temporal analysis of change

John_Mustard@brown.edu
401-863-1264
http://www.geo.brown.edu/research/Mustard/

James Russell

Associate Professor of Earth, Environmental and Planetary Sciences
Theme Leader, Food and Water

Climate, Paleoclimate, Limnology, Tropics

James_Russell@brown.edu
401-863-6330
https://vivo.brown.edu/display/jarussel

Neil Safier

Associate Professor of History
Director of John Carter Brown Library

18th-century European colonialism, Brazil, South America

Neil_Safier@brown.edu
401-863-2725
https://vivo.brown.edu/display/nsafier

Eric Suuberg

C.V. Starr Professor of Technology Entrepreneurship
Professor of Engineering

eric_suuberg@brown.edu
401-863-1420
https://vivo.brown.edu/display/esuuberg

Peter van Dommelen

Joukowsky Family Professor of Archaeology and Professor of Anthropology
Director of the Joukowsky Institute for Archaeology and the Ancient World

Archaeology, Ancient agriculture, Mediterranean, Soils

Peter_Van_Dommelen@brown.edu
401-863-2008
https://vivo.brown.edu/display/pvandomm

Parker VanValkenburgh

Assistant Professor of Anthropology

GIS and Spatial Analysis, Political Ecology, Environmental Archaeology

parker_vanvalkenburgh@brown.edu
401-863-3251
https://vivo.brown.edu/display/pvanvalk

Gregory Wellenius

Associate Professor of Epidemiology

Air pollution, Climate change, Epidemiology, Public health

Gregory_Wellenius@brown.edu
401-863-9649
https://vivo.brown.edu/display/gwelleni

Visiting Fellows

Brigt Dale

Visiting Scholar in Environment and Society

brigt_dale1@brown.edu

Elizabeth Fussell

Associate Professor of Population Studies (Research) and Environment and Society

Human migration and environment, weather-related disasters, Hurricane Katrina and New Orleans, social inequality

elizabeth_fussell@brown.edu
401-863-5790

Lenore Manderson

Visiting Professor of Environmental Studies

Medical anthropology, Environmental changes on infectious disease, Social determinants, Social aspects of biodiversity

Lenore_Manderson@brown.edu

https://vivo.brown.edu/display/lhmander

Laurence C. Smith

Visiting Professor of Earth, Environmental and Planetary Sciences

Arctic, remote sensing, river hydrology

lsmith@geog.ucla.edu

http://www.geog.ucla.edu/smith

Siri Veland

Assistant Professor of Environmental Studies (Research)

Global environmental change, Indigenous issues, Risk perception, Climate change policy

Siri_Veland@brown.edu

https://vivo.brown.edu/display/sveland

Brown University
More about Brown University