People

Leadership

Saul Olyan
Director, Program in Judaic Studies
Samuel Ungerleider Jr. Professor of Judaic Studies and Professor of Religious Studies 
Saul_Olyan@brown.edu 

Faculty

Ruth Adler Ben-Yehuda
Senior Lecturer in Judaic Studies
Ruth_Adler_Ben_Yehuda@brown.edu
(401) 863-7563 

Katharina Galor Steinberg
Hirschfeld Visiting Assistant Professor of Judaic Studies
Katharina_Galor@brown.edu
(401) 863-3910

Mary Gluck
Professor of History
Mary_Gluck@brown.edu
(401) 863-2352

David C. Jacobson
Professor of Judaic Studies
David_Jacobson@brown.edu
(401) 863-3908 

Maud Mandel
Dean of the College
Professor of Judaic Studies and History
Maud_Mandel@brown.edu
(401) 863-3915

Paul Nahme
Dorot Assistant Professor of Judaic Studies and Assistant Professor of Religious Studies
Paul_Nahme@brown.edu 
(401) 863-2262

 

Saul Olyan
Samuel Ungerleider Jr. Professor of Judaic Studies and Professor of Religious Studies 
Saul_Olyan@brown.edu
(401) 863-7565

Rachel Rojanski
Senior Lecturer in Judaic Studies and Adjunct Professor in History 
Rachel_Rojanski@brown.edu
(401) 863-7537

Michael Satlow
Professor of Religious Studies and Judaic Studies 
Michael_Satlow@brown.edu
(401) 863-3911

Adam Teller
Associate Professor of Judaic Studies and History
Undergraduate Concentration Advisor
Adam_Teller@brown.edu
(401) 863-7564

Nelson H. Vieira
University Professor and Professor of Portuguese & Brazilian Studies and Judaic Studies 
Nelson_Vieira@brown.edu
(401) 863-3042

Affiliated Faculty

Ariella Azoulay
Assistant Professor of Comparative Literature and Modern Culture and Media

Omer Bartov
John P. Birkelund Distinguished Professor of European History and Professor of History and German Studies
Omer_Bartov@brown.edu

Nathaniel Berman
Rahel Varnhagen Professor of International Affairs, Law,and Modern Culture 
Nathaniel_Berman@brown.edu

Beshara B. Doumani
Professor of Modern Middle East History 
bdoumani@brown.edu

Rachel Friedberg
Senior Lecturer, Economics
Rachel_Friedberg@brown.edu

Susan Ashbrook Harvey
William Prescott and Annie McClelland Smith Professor of Religious Studies
Susan_Harvey@brown.edu

Bonnie Honig
Professor of Modern Culture and Media

David Josephson
Professor of Music

David Kertzer
Dupee University Professor of Social Science, Professor of Anthropology & Italian Studies
David_Kertzer@brown.edu

Adi Ophir
Mellon Visiting Professor in the Humanities
Cogut Center for the Humanities

Holly Snyder
Curator, American Historical Collections
University Library, Special Collections
holly_snyder@brown.edu

Michael Steinberg
Director, Cogut Humanities Center, Barnaby Conrad and Mary Critchfield Keeney Professor of History and Professor of Music
Michael_Steinberg@brown.edu

Emeritus

Ross Kraemer
Professor Emerita of Religious Studies and Judaic Studies 
Ross_Kraemer@brown.edu

Staff

Susan Rottenberg
Academic Program Manager
Susan_Rottenberg@brown.edu
(401) 863-3910

 


Visitors

Gaia Lembi
Visiting Assisting Professor (Research) of Judaic Studies
Gaia_Lembi@brown.edu 
(401) 863-3925