N.B. The Library opens at 10 a.m. on the first Wednesday of every month, and the Reading Room closes to researchers at 3 p.m. every Wednesday for a public lecture. If you plan to visit for research, please email us at  to verify that the Reading Room will be open on the days and times you want to come.



January 11 (Monday) — Open to researchers

January 18 (Monday) — Martin Luther King, Jr., Day (observed)

May 30 (Monday) — Memorial Day

July 4 (Monday) —Fourth of July

August 8 (Monday) — Victory Day (official RI holiday)

September 5 (Monday) — Labor Day

October 10 (Monday) — Fall Weekend

November 24 & 25 (Thursday & Friday) — Thanksgiving Holdiay

November 25 (Friday) — Thanksgiving Holiday

December 22, 2016-January 2, 2017— Holiday Break


January 2 - January 6 — Closed to public and researchers

January 16 (Monday) — Martin Luther King, Jr. Day (observed)

May 29 (Monday) — Memorial Day (observed)

July 4 (Tuesday) — American Independence Day (observed)

August 14 (Monday) — Victory Day (official Rhode Island holiday)

September 4 (Monday) — Labor Day (observed)

October 9 (Monday) — Indigenous Peoples Day

November 23 & 24 (Thursday & Friday) — Thanksgiving Holiday (observed)


Please note that on the first Wednesday of each month, the Library usually holds a staff meeting and does not open until after 10 a.m.

Library hours are subject to change. Please check this closing calendar for latest changes.