Event Archive

Below is a list of our past events. By clicking on the event you can see a list of the authors who participated and links to live recordings from the event.

Rikki Ducornet

The author of eight novels, three collections of short fiction, a book of essays and five books of poetry, Rikki Ducornet has twice been honored by the Lannan Foundation. She has received the Bard College Arts and Letters award and, in 2008, an Academy Award in Literature.  Her work is widely published abroad. Recent exhibitions of her
paintings include the solo show Desirous at the Pierre Menard Gallery in Cambridge, Massachusetts, in 2007, and the group shows: O Reverso Do Olhar in Coimbra, Portugal, in 2008, and El Umbral Secreto at the Museo de la Solidaridad Salvador Allende in Santiago, Chile, in 2009. She has illustrated books by Jorge Luis Borges, Robert Coover, Forest Gander, Kate Bernheimer, Joanna Howard and Anne Waldman among others.  Her collected papers including prints and drawings are in the permanent collection of the Ohio State University Rare Books and Manuscripts Library.

Philosophy of Screenwriting: Problems, Process, History & Practicalities

Andrew Repasky McElhinney, PhD is the writer/director of the feature films Magdalen (1998), A Chronicle of Corpses (2000), Georges Bataille’s Story of the Eye (2003) and Animal Husbandry (2009).  He is also an author, theater director, installation artist, repertory film programmer and educator.  The author of the scholarly work, Second Takes: Remaking Film, Remaking America; McElhinney’s newest feature film, Christmas Dreams, will be released during the holiday season of 2014.  

Success Lies Elsewhere: My Important Screenwriting Failures

Angela FerraioloAngela FerraioloAngela Ferraiolo is a writer and filmmaker working on how computation might create procedural narrative. Professionally she has worked for RKO, H20 Productions, Westwood Studios, and Electronic Arts. She is the writer/narrative designer of three shipped video game titles, including one of the first online massive multiplayers, Earth and Beyond. Her experimental films have screen nationally and internationally. Her work with procedural montage has been featured at the International Conference of Generative Art Rome, and the International Conference of Computer Graphics, Imaging and Visualization, Taiwan. She is a member of Millennium Film Workshop, Filmmaker's Coop, and IFP's New Media Lab where she is working on interactive movies for the mobile tablet.

Kathryn Davis

Kathryn Davis is the author of seven novels, most recently Duplex. She has been the recipient of the Kafka Prize, the Morton Dauwen Zabel Award from the American Academy of Arts and Letters, a Guggenheim Fellowship, and the 2006 Lannan Award for Fiction. She lives in Vermont and teaches in the MFA program at Washington University in St. Louis, where she is Hurst Senior Writer-in-Residence.  


David Barker: Defining Distance

David Barker has written, directed, and edited films which have shown through the world. Recent projects include Thou Wast Mild and Lovely (co-writer and editor, Berlin International Film Festival 2014), Highway (editor, Museum of Modern Art 2013), and Daylight (writer/director, New York Times Critics Pick 2011). He was the artistic director of the Cinematexas International Film Festival, an experimental film festival called 'the most inspiring and innovative film festival in the US, as well as a partner in Drift Distribution, which distributed films by artists such as Jean-Luc Godard, Isaac Julien, Laura Mulvey, and Harun Farocki. He is currently collaborating with the Australian Aboriginal arts collective Karrabing on an innovative feature film which he will co-direct, as well as co-writing films with directors from Nepal and Bulgaria to be shot in those countries in 2015. 

Matt Bell

Matt Bell's debut novel In the House upon the Dirt between the Lake and the Woods was longlisted for the Flaherty-Dunnan First Novel Prize and selected as a 2014 Michigan Notable Book. He is also the author of two previous books, How They Were Found and Cataclysm Baby, and his fiction has appeared in Best American Mystery Stories, Conjunctions, The American Reader, Gulf Coast, and many other publications. He teaches creative writing in the MFA program at Northern Michigan University.

Jorie Graham

Please join us for a reading by and conversation with Jorie Graham. Jorie Graham is the celebrated author of numerous collections of poetry, most recently Sea ChangeNeverSwarm, andThe Dream of the Unified Field: Selected Poems 1974-1994, which won the 1996 Pulitzer Prize for Poetry. Her many honors include a John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Fellowship and the Morton Dauwen Zabel Award from The American Academy and Institute of Arts and Letters.

Susan Howe

Author of more than a dozen books of poetry and literary criticism, Susan Howe's recent collection of poems That This, published by New Directions won the Bollingen Prize in 2011.  Her earlier critical study, My Emily Dickinson, was re-issued in 2007 with an introduction by Eliot Weinberger. Three CDs in collaboration with the musician/composer David Grubbs, Thiefth andSouls of the Labadie Tract, and Frolic Architecture. were released on the Blue Chopsticks label (2005; 2011).  Howe held the Samuel P. Capen Chair in Poetry and the Humanities at the State University New York at Buffalo until her retirement in 2007. The recipient of a Guggenheim Fellowship, she was elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences in 1999 and served as a Chancellor to the Academy of American Poets between 2000-2006. In fall, 2009 she was awarded a Fellowship to the American Academy at Berlin,recently she was an Artist In Residence at the Isabella Stewart Gardner Museum in Boston. This fall her recent word collages were exhibited in a show at the Yale Union in Portland, Oregon.

John Banville

John Banville is the distinguished author of 16 novels including, most recently, Ancient Light, and of The Sea, winner of the 2005 Man Booker Prize.  Born in Wexford, Ireland, and currently living in Dublin, he is a metafictionist who has been compared to Beckett and Nabokov, Banville first gained international prominence through a series of four books, Dr. CopernicusKeplerThe Newton Letter, and Mefisto, all linked by a common interest in math or astronomy.  Other works include a trilogy, The Book of EvidenceGhosts, and Athena; and The Untouchable, loosely based on the life of Royal art curator and spy Anthony Blunt, regarded by some as Banville’s finest novel.   He is the author of a series of popular mystery novels penned under the pseudonym Benjamin Black, which are currently being filmed by BBC Drama, and of television and film projects including an adaptation of his novel The Sea.  In addition to the Booker Prize, Banville has been awarded the James Tait Black Memorial Prize, the Guardian Fiction Prize, and the Franz Kafka Prize.  He has been described as “without question, one of the greatest living masters of English-language prose.”

Matthew Derby

Matthew Derby is a contributing author of The Silent History, the first major exploratory, interactive novel designed specifically for the iPad and iPhone. He is also the author of the short story collection Super Flat Times. His stories have been anthologized in The Anchor Book of New American Short StoriesThe Apocalypse Reader, and Dzanc's Best of the Web. His writing has appeared in McSweeney's, ConjunctionsThe BelieverThe Columbia JournalFence, and Guernica. He is also a Senior Interface Designer at Harmonix, a game studio in Cambridge, Massachusetts