Lit Arts Faculty and Alum Short-Listed for 2021 National Book Awards

A Literary Arts faculty member and an alumna have been short-listed for the 2021 National Book Awards. Professor Laird Hunt is among five finalists in the fiction category for his novel Zorrie, from Bloomsbury Publishing, and Desiree Bailey (MFA '15) is short-listed in the poetry category for What Noise Against the Cane, published by Yale.  Professor Emeritus Forrest Gander was long-listed in the poetry category for his book Twice Alive, published by New Directions.  

Winners will be announced on Wednesday, Nov. 17.

(Distributed September 17, 2021)

New Alumni Publications

Several Literary Arts alums report new and forthcoming books.  Louise Akers MFA ’18 has published Alien Year with Oversound. Horology, by Derek Gromadzki  MFA ’14, was published by Shearsman.

(Distributed September 2, 2021)

Karan Mahajan's explores Indian cinema trends in the New York Review of Books

Karan Mahajan explores the evolotion of India's Bollywood traditions in an article recently published in the New York Review of Books. As noted in the article's precis, "realistic depictions of religions, sexuality and politics have been off-limits in Bollywood for decades, but in recent years, directors were able to bypass censorship by moving to the small screen." Karan Mahajan is an Assistant Professor in Literary Arts, with a primary focus in ficiton.

(Distributed July 13, 2021)

Chibuihe Obi Achimba one of 2021's Emerging Artists

Chibuihe Obi Achimba has been selected by the St. Botolp Club Foundation as an Emerging Artist of 2021. Chibuihe Obi Achimba is a current MFA candidate in Literary Arts, with a projected graduation date of spring 2022.

(Distributed June 30, 2021)

The One on Earth: Selected Works of Mark Baumer, released by Fence Books

Mark Baumer's selected works, published as The One on Earth, will be released by Fence Books in May 2021. Baumer graduated in May 2011 with an MFA and was indefatigable in his literary practices, writing in every imaginable style, focusing on any and everything. He was on a nation-long trek to raise awareness on climate change when in December 2016 he was struck and killed by a motorist.

(Distributed May 18, 2021)

Digital Artwork 'translation' by Prof. John Cayley Featured in New CLS Exhibit, 'Mapping Multilingualism'

“Translation,” a digital artwork by Professor and Chair of Literary Arts John Cayley, is currently featured in “Mapping Multilingualism,” a virtual exhibit created by the Center for Language Studies at Brown.  “Translation” is a  work of ambient time-based poetics that makes use of short textual extracts from Walter Benjamin’s essay ‘On Language as Such and on the Language of Man,’ and passage

(Distributed April 7, 2021)

Alums Qianxun Chen and Mariana Roa Oliva featured in MIT exhibit

Generative Unfoldings, an exhibit sponsored by MIT in spring 2021, features 14 generative artworks, among which is a collaborative project by Qianxun Chen and Mariana Roa Oliva, both of whom graduated from Brown's MFA program in 2020. Their project, Seedlings_: From Hummus, was selected for inclusion by the exhibition curator, Nick Montfort, who is a professor of digital media at Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

(Distributed April 6, 2021)

Jo Stewart receives David Dornstein '85 Artist Grant from Brown Arts Initiative

Jo Stewart, who is slated to graduate with an MFA in Literary Arts later this year, has been named the inaugural recipient of the David Dornstein '85 Artist Grant. Stewart was selected for the $25,000 Brown Arts Initiative grant based on a proposed serial poem project to be entitled Un-. The poem sequence centers on the life a girl called un; the poem series shall investigate the prefix as a destabilizing gift. Jo Stewart uses a combination of gesture, voice and text to make poetry and performance investigating entrapment, borders and freedom.

(Distributed March 24, 2021)
Syndicate content Subscribe via RSS feed