Jan Wagner

Jan Wagner is a German poet and translator of Anglo-American poetry whose poetry collections are A Trial Drill in the Sky (2001), Geuricke’s Sparrow (2004), and Eighteen Pies (2007).  He is translator and editor of selected poems of James Tate (The Wrong Way Home) and Matthew Sweeney (Pink Milk).  Along with the poet Björn Kuhligk, he edited Poetry of the Now:  74 Voices, an anthology of young German language poets.  He is the recipient of the Mondsee Poetry Award, the Anna Seghers Award, the Ernst Meister Award for Poetry, and the first Arno Reinfrank Award.


Contemporary Writers Reading Series - Fall 2008