About Us

Welcome to the Warren Alpert Medical School of Brown University

Since granting its first Doctor of Medicine degrees in 1975, the Warren Alpert Medical School has become a national leader in medical education and biomedical research. By attracting first-class physicians and researchers to Rhode Island over the past four decades, the Medical School and its seven affiliated teaching hospitals have radically improved the state's health care environment, from health care policy to patient care.

Students are admitted to the School through a variety of pathways. The Medical School awards approximately 120 MD degrees each year.

The Medical School is a component of Brown’s Division of Biology and Medicine, which also includes the Program in Biology. Together with Brown's seven affiliated teaching hospitals, the collective research enterprise in the life and health sciences attracts $180 million in sponsored research funding per year.

Learn more about what it's like to study medicine and more at Brown.


To support and promote the health of individuals and communities through innovative medical education programs, research initiatives, and clinical excellence in service to society and to improve the health and wellness of all.


We envision attracting, training, and sustaining diverse individuals who will work together to lead locally, nationally and internationally renowned transformative and socially responsible medical education, research, clinical care, and advocacy. We will inspire and cultivate physician scholars and leaders who positively impact the health of people and society.


• Humanism and compassion
• Integrity, accountability, and collaboration
• Creativity, innovation, and discovery
• Inclusiveness, diversity, and equity
• Dedication to anti-racism
• Social responsibility, both locally and globally
• Community engagement and service
• Commitment to professional development

These statements were developed in 2019 with feedback from administrative and academic leaders, representatives of the faculty, and the Medical Student Senate.