About Pakistan

The country of Pakistan has a history dating back thousands of years but was only established as a sovereign state 14th August 1947. The capital is Islamabad and the country consists of six regions: Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, FATA, Punjab, Baluchistan, Sindh, and Islamabad Capital Territory (ICT). A census conducted by the Pakistan Bureau of Statistics in 2017 concluded that Pakistan has a total population of about 207.7 million people. The population breakdown of the country by region is shown in Figure 1:

Figure 1: Population distribution of Pakistan by region


The largest province Punjab hosts a population of about 110.0 million people followed by Sindh at 47.9 million, Khyber Pakhtunkhwa at 30.5 million, Baluchistan at 12.3 million, FATA at 5.0 million, and Islamabad at 2.0 million.