Ecology and Evolutionary Biology

 
Department of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology

›View Ecology and Evolutionary Biology site

Research and instruction in the Department is directed toward understanding biological systems at the individual, population, and community levels of organization utilizing both plant, animal, and microbial systems. Major research areas pursued by faculty and students include functional morphology, foraging ecology, the adaptive significance of animal behavior, sexual selection in plants and animals, insect mating behavior, plant population genetics, molecular population genetics and evolution, marine community ecology, theoretical population and community ecology, and ecosystem ecology.
Graduate study in ecology and evolutionary biology at Brown University leads to the PhD degree. A core of faculty and postdoctoral researchers engaged in cutting edge research guides students. Students further benefit from the Department's academic collaborations across University and Alpert Medical School departments and programs. The Brown/Marine Biological Laboratory Joint Graduate Program offers students an opportunity to work with faculty at both Brown and the renowned MBL in Woods Hole, Massachusetts. Faculty and students are also active prominently in the Environmental Change Initiative, a multidisciplinary center at Brown tackling the complex issues undergirding environmental change.

All Faculty   A   B   C   D   E   F   G   H   I   J   K   L   M   N   O   P   Q   R   S   T   U   V   W   X   Y   Z

Name Contact
Kathryn L Amatangelo
Adjunct Assistant Professor of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
kathryn_amatangelo@brown.edu
(401) 863-1000
David B Baier
Adjunct Associate Professor of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
david_baier@brown.edu
(401) 863-1000
Mark D Bertness
Robert P. Brown Professor of Biology
mark_bertness@brown.edu
(401) 863-2280
Elizabeth Brainerd
Professor of Biology, Professor of Medical Science
elizabeth_brainerd@brown.edu
(401) 863-9261
Zoe G Cardon
Professor of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology (MBL)
zoe_cardon@brown.edu
(401) 863-3339
Amy E Chew
Adjunct Associate Professor of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
amy_chew@brown.edu
Linda Deegan
Professor of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology (MBL)
linda_deegan@brown.edu
(401) 289-7487
Casey Dunn
Associate Professor of Biology
casey_dunn@brown.edu
(401) 863-9806
Erika J Edwards
Associate Professor of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology, Director of the Herbarium
erika_edwards@brown.edu
(401) 863-2081
Stephen M Gatesy
Professor of Biology, Professor of Medical Science
stephen_gatesy@brown.edu
(401) 863-3770
Anne Giblin
Professor of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology (MBL)
anne_giblin@brown.edu
George E Goslow
Professor Emeritus of Biology
george_goslow_jr@brown.edu
(401) 863-1000
Roger T Hanlon
Professor of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology (MBL)
roger_hanlon@brown.edu
(401) 274-3633
John Hobbie
Professor of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology (MBL)
john_hobbie@brown.edu
(401) 863-1000
Julie A Huber
Associate Professor of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology (MBL)
julie_huber@brown.edu
(401) 863-1000
Christine M Janis
Professor of Biology
christine_janis@brown.edu
(401) 863-2215
James R Kellner
Assistant Professor of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology and Environment and Society
james_r_kellner@brown.edu
(401) 863-5768
Andrew B Leslie
Assistant Professor of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
andrew_leslie@brown.edu
(203) 432-7168
Richard L Marsh
Adjunct Professor of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
richard_marsh@brown.edu
(401) 863-3754
Jerry Melillo
Professor of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology (MBL)
jerry_melillo@brown.edu
(401) 863-3324
Keith A Metzger
Adjunct Associate Professor of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
keith_metzger@brown.edu
(917) 671-6207
Douglass H Morse
Hermon Bumpus Professor Emeritus of Biology, Professor of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology (Research)
d_morse@brown.edu
(401) 863-3152
Christopher Neill
Phyllis and Charles M. Rosenthal Director of the Brown-Marine Biological Laboratory Partnership, Associate Professor of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology (MBL)
christopher_neill@brown.edu
(401) 863-1000
Stephen Porder
Associate Professor of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology and Environment and Society, Co-Director of the Ecology and Evolutionary Biology Graduate Program
stephen_porder@brown.edu
(401) 863-6356
Anton Post
Professor of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology (MBL)
anton_post@brown.edu
(508) 289-7131
Sohini Ramachandran
Manning Assistant Professor of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
sohini_ramachandran@brown.edu
(401) 863-9701
David M Rand
Stephen T. Olney Professor of Natural History, Chair of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
david_rand@brown.edu
(401) 863-2890
Edward Rastetter
Professor of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology (MBL)
edward_rastetter_1@brown.edu
(401) 863-1000
Dale A Ritter
Senior Lecturer in Biology
dale_ritter@brown.edu
(401) 863-5093
Thomas Roberts
Vice Chair of the Department of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology, Professor of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
thomas_roberts@brown.edu
(401) 863-3608
Katherine F Smith
Associate Dean of Biology Undergraduate Education, Assistant Professor of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology (Research)
katherine_smith@brown.edu
(401) 863-5957
Sharon M Swartz
Professor of Biology, Interim Director of Sheridan Center, Professor of Engineering
sharon_swartz@brown.edu
(401) 863-1582
Marc Tatar
Professor of Biology
marc_tatar@brown.edu
(401) 863-3455
Jonathan K Waage
Professor Emeritus of Biology
jonathan_waage@brown.edu
(401) 863-1000
Daniel M Weinreich
Co-Director of the Ecology and Evolutionary Biology Graduate Program, Associate Professor of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
daniel_weinreich@brown.edu
(401) 863-3937
Timothy J Whitfeld
Assistant Professor of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology (Research)
timothy_whitfeld@brown.edu
(401) 863-2375
Jon D Witman
Professor of Biology
jon_witman@brown.edu
(401) 863-3936