News and Highlights

Dr. Merck to lead ProTECTIII study at Rhode Island Hospital

Dr. Lisa Merck will be lead investigator at Rhode Island Hospital for a national study examining whether IV progesterone is an effective treatment for moderate to severe acute traumatic brain injury (TBI).  The study, known as ProTECTIII (Progesterone for the Treatment of Traumatic Brain Injury) is an NIH-sponsored phase III clinical trial being conducted at 36 sites nationally.  

More information about the study is available at the ProTECTIII website as well as Rhode Island Hospital's press release.  

Faculty awards ceremony

2013 Dept of EM outstanding physicians and exemplary service awards announced

On June 4, 2013, the Department of Emergency Medicine honored recipients of the UEMF/Department of EM Outstanding Physician Awards and Exemplary Service Awards for 2013. The Outstanding Physician Awards were given to Thomas Chun, Ilse Jenouri, Leo Kobayashi, Alyson McGregor and Laura McPeake. The Exemplary Service Award was given to Adam Levine. Congratulations to them for their many accomplishments this year.

Also on June 4th, the Department of Emergency Medicine honored faculty members recently promoted at Alpert Medical School.   Jay Baruch, Brian Clyne, Catherine Cummings, Ilse Jenouri, John Fogle, Frantz Gibbs and Thomas Haronian were all promoted to Associate Professor.

Brian Clyne, MD

Dr. Brian Clyne appointed Vice Chair for Education

On June 1, 2013,  Dr. Brian Clyne assumed the position of Vice Chair for Education in the Department of Emergency Medicine at the Alpert Medical School of Brown University.  In his new role Dr. Clyne will guide and oversee the educational programs in the Department of Emergency Medicine for the EM Residency, medical student education, and CME.  He will take a lead role in faculty development in education.  

He had previously served as Residency Program Director since 2005. Under the 8 years of his leadership the residency program has advanced in all areas, and is acknowledged to be one of the best residencies in the nation.  Dr. Clyne has been an active scholar and presenter in education on a national level in our academic organizations, and also in the Alpert Medical School where is he is one of three Academy Lead Physicians.

Dr. Jessica L. Smith to become new residency program director

Dr. Jessica L. Smith, MD, FACEP, became the new residency program director on June 1. Dr. Smith has been a core faculty member in Emergency Medicine since 2006 and has served in many key educational roles including Assistant Program Director and Associate Program Director.  She is a nationally recognized educator, having earned the 2012 ACEP National Teaching Award and the 2013 CORD Distinguished Educator Award. 

She is joined by Dr. Robert Tubbs who has been promoted to Associate Program Director, and Dr. Jamieson (Jamie) Cohn who has been appointed as Assistant Program Director.  Dr. Tubbs is among the most dedicated and creative educators in emergency medicine. In addition to teaching the program’s emergency radiology curriculum, he has re-organized our conference series and developed an innovative visiting professorship program. He lectures prolifically and sets a high bar for the rest of our faculty.

Dr. Cohn is a 2011 graduate of the program who has shown great aptitude as a teacher and leader. He serves on the program’s recruitment and evaluation committees while simultaneously leading a key part of the intern curriculum.


Anderson ED

Rhode Island Hospital’s Anderson ED featured in WJAR-TV report

On May 17, WJAR-TV (Channel 10) aired an in-depth, two-part report that took a unique look inside Rhode Island Hospital’s emergency department.  A reporter and photographer from Channel 10 spent two full shifts in the ED in the spring to capture the range of cases seen in the state’s only Level I trauma center and highlighted several patients and the outstanding care provided by our staff.

View part 1
View part 2

Dr. Elizabeth Jacobs to become new pediatric EM fellowship director

After ten years of dedicated service, Dr. Dale Steele is stepping down as Pediatric Emergency Medicine Fellowship Director effective June 1st.   Under Dr. Steele’s leadership, the Brown Pediatric EM Fellowship has become recognized as one of the top programs and his fellowship graduates have gone on to take academic and clinical positions in some of the leading pediatric emergency departments.   Dr. Elizabeth Jacobs (pictured) will become the PEM Fellowship Director in June.   Dr. Jacobs is a highly experienced educator who previously served  as the Fellowship Director at Children’s National Medical Center in Washington, DC.  

US emergency care costs higher than previously thought

U.S. emergency care costs may be more than twice previously published estimates, according to a new analysis by Dr. Michael Lee and department chair Dr. Brian Zink.  Dr. Jay Schuur, an alumnus of the Brown residency program was also a co-author.  The article, published on April 26 in the Annals of Emergency Medicine, critiques existing cost estimates, argues for improved accounting, and suggests considering the value of emergency care as well as total spending.

Dr. James Linakis

Dr. Linakis awarded NIH grant on teen alcohol screening

In April, Dr. James Linakis, MD, PhD was awarded a 5-year, $3,278,096 R01 grant from the National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism at NIH. His project, entitled “Teen Alcohol Screening in the Pediatric Emergency Care Applied Research Network” will utilize 15 sites in the HRSA-funded PECARN network to determine if the NIAAA two-question screen is an efficient and valid alcohol screening instrument among US pediatric emergency department patients.

Syndicate content Subscribe via RSS feed