Strong presence by Brown at annual meeting of the Society for Academic Emergency Medicine

August 12, 2014

At the 2014 annual meeting of the Society for Academic Emergency Medicine in Dallas,  Brown faculty, residents, fellows, and administrators were responsible for 40 didactic or scientific abstract presentations, the strongest showing of any department of emergency medicine at the conference.  Brown faculty were also well-represented in committees, interest groups and other organizational activities.

A few highlights:  Dr. Esther Choo was recognized as recipient of the SAEM Young Investigator Award.  Dr. Francesca Beaudoin gave a prestigious plenary oral presentation on low dose ketamine for pain in ED patients.  Drs. Beaudoin, Clay Merchant, and Michael Lee had their abstracts selected for display in the "Gallery of Excellence" at the conference's opening reception.  Drs. Alyson McGregor, Tracy Madsen, Esther Choo and Megan Ranney organized and led the Conensus Conference on Gender-Specific Research in Emergency Care.  Dr. Adam Levine presented several papers on global EM.  Dr. Elizabeth Goldberg won the "Shark Tank" session by successfully pitching a research proposal to a panel of senior investigators.