2019 Haffenreffer Family House Staff Excellence Award

Congratulations to Dr.  Jose Ramirez and Dr. Avi Goodman for being two of five award recipients of the 2019 Haffenreffer Family House Staff Excellence Award. Dr. Ramirez and Dr. Goodman are two of our Chief Residents who will be continuing at Brown for their PGY-6 Trauma Fellowship year. Since 1946, the Haffenreffer family has generously funded an annual awards program that formally recognizes residents, chief residents, and fellows for outstanding performance. 

Congratulations to our 2019 Dean's Excellence in Teaching Award Recipients

Members of our faculty and resident staff were honored on June 18, 2019 at the 12th Annual Dean's Excellence in Teaching Awards Reception. 

Michel Arcand, MD - Clinical Assistant Professor of Orthopaedics

Michael Belanger, MD - Clinical Assistant Professor of Orthopaedics

John Froehlich, MD - Associate Professor of Orthopaedics, Clinician Educator

Andrew Evans, MD - Assistant Professor of Orthopaedics

2019 Student Research Day Celebration

On May 15th, 2019, the Department of Orthopaedics hosted the annual 2019 Student Research Day. This event provides department interns and students the opportunity to showcase the research projects they have completed in the various department labs. There was a total of 12 student speakers which comprised of 2 medical school students, three Master’s degree students, five undergraduate students and two Ph.D. candidates. Congratulations and best of luck to our graduating class!

Mary O'Conner: 57th Murray S. Danforth Orator

Mary O'Conner, M.D, Professor of Orthopaedics and Rehabilitation, and Director, Center for Musculoskeletal Care at Yale University, was the 57th Murray S. Danforth Orator. In 1957, Mrs. Danforth established the Murray S. Danforth Orthopaedic Fund for resident training and research as a living memorial to her husband. Dr. Danforth organized the fracture service at Rhode Island Hospital in 1931- one of four oldest and continuously functioning fracture residencies in the country. 

Syndicate content Subscribe via RSS feed