Chief Fellow 2020-21

Mitch Otu, MDMitch Otu, MD Dr. Mitch Otu completed his psychiatry residency at the University of Miami.  He received his medical degree from the Keck School of Medicine at the University of Southern California in 2016.  Dr. Otu also received an MBA degree while in medical school. During medical school, Dr. Otu conducted a study investigating the relationship between the patient-centered medical home model of health care and diabetes care. During residency, Dr. Otu was actively involved in providing psychiatry evaluations at a local women’s shelter and more globally he designed health improvement programs that targeted youth in Cameroon and Honduras. He also organized a peer orientation for incoming psychiatry residents at UM regarding the management of agitation and common medical emergencies. 

Second Year Child Psychiatry Fellows 2020-21

Brittany Crowley, MDBrittany Crowley, MD

Dr. Brittany Crowley joined the fellowship after completing her psychiatry residency at the Harvard Longwood Psychiatry Residency Program. She received her medical degree at Drexel University College of Medicine in 2015, where she received a professionalism award for peer development. Dr. Crowley received the Medical Student Teaching Award at Newton Wellesley Hospital during residency training.  She was a leader on the Harvard Longwood Recruitment Committee and the Resident Leadership Council. As Chief Resident for Inpatient Psychiatry during this academic year (2018-19), Dr. Crowley is providing a pathway for junior and senior residents to communicate with program leadership. She is also very involved resident wellness initiatives.

 Dr. Petya RadoevaDr. Petya RadoevaDr. Petya Radoeva graduated from the Psychiatry Residency Program at the University of Washington in Seattle.  She received her MD/PhD  in neuroscience from SUNY Upstate Medical University in Syracuse, where she studied the association between autism spectrum disorder and social cognition, as well as the integrity of white matter tracts in the brains of youth with velocardiofacial syndrome. During her residency, she explored gender differences in white matter tracts connecting the frontal lobe and the amygdala in youth with ASD. She is currently a research scientist in the PediMIND research program at Bradley Hospital mentored by Dr. Daniel Dickstein, where she will focus future research on further elucidating the relationship between genes, neurodevelopment, and neurocognition in youth with neurodevelopmental disorders. 

First Year Child Psychiatry Fellows 2020-21

Sara Armaiz-Flores, MDSara Armaiz-Flores, MDDr. Sara Armaiz-Flores completed psychiatry residency at the Harvard Longwood Psychiatry Residency Program (Brigham and Women’s and Beth Israel Deaconess Hospitals). She received her medical degree at the University of Puerto Rico School of Medicine in 2016.  Dr. Armaiz-Flores completed a research fellowship in Pediatric Endocrinology at the National Institutes of Health (NIH), where she worked in the area of obesity and binge eating disorders in children and adolescents and was first author of a manuscript assessing weight, serum leptin, and bone density in children and adolescents. Notably, Dr. Armaiz-Flores is a member of the prestigious Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Society, and was chosen to be Chief Resident for 2019-20.  During residency, Dr. Armaiz-Flores has served as the co-president in the Residency Leadership council (RLC), the Administrative Chief Resident at Brigham and Women’s Hospital, and led several important wellness initiatives for interns and residents. 

Christa Belgrave, MDChrista Belgrave, MDDr. Christa Belgrave completed psychiatry residency at the Warren Alpert Medical School of Brown University.  She received her medical degree from New York Medical College. She was an active member of the Chairman’s Round Table on Leadership and Health Policy and served as a leader and advocate for patients without insurance or access to care. During her fourth year of medical school, she became an American Psychiatric Association Scholar and was awarded funding to attend a national Mental Health Services Conference.  During her residency training, Dr. Belgrave has joined the Curriculum Committee, the Graduate Medical Education Committee, and the Social Wellness Committee, along with helping to organize a unique program for residents entitled “Vulnerable Populations in Rhode Island.”  Dr. Belgrave’s leadership abilities and dedication to clinical work have been recognized with the Woodrow Wilson Community Service Award and the American Psychiatric Association Scholar Award.

Teresa Daniels, MDTeresa Daniels, MDDr. Teresa Daniels completed her Psychiatry Residency at the Warren Alpert Medical School of Brown University.  She received her medical degree from the Virginia Commonwealth University in 2016. Dr. Daniels received an NIMH Intramural Training Award after graduation, where she studied the role of the anterior cingulate cortex in learning and decision-making.  During residency training, she was accepted into the Brown NIMH R-25 Research Training Program. Her research has focused on the  epigenetics, including inflammatory and metabolic biomarkers, of early life stress. Dr. Daniels has presented her research at the annual meetings of the American College of Neuropsychopharmacology, Society of Biological Psychiatry, and the Society for Neuroscience.  Additionally, Dr. Daniels has worked with the Brown Human Rights Asylum Clinic to conduct asylum evaluations and helped to establish a psychiatric clinic within a local free clinic for undocumented and uninsured patients. 

Mudit Kumar, MDMudit Kumar, MDDr. Mudit Kumar completed psychiatry residency at the University of Wisconsin (UW).  He received his medical degree from the Maulana Azad Medical College in India.  He was appointed to the UW Clinical Educator Track during residency. Dr. Kumar recognized a gap in the education of residents on the topic of psychiatric genetics, and is working on developing an exportable curriculum for psychiatry residents and child & adolescent psychiatry fellows to be delivered through five online modules.  Dr. Kumar was recently selected by the National Neuroscience Curriculum Initiative (NNCI) to script and record a video on the biology of memory for the popular NNCI educational series.  Dr. Kumar is also a member of the UW Psychiatry Residency Program Evaluation Committee. Dr. Kumar plans to pursue a career emphasizing the assessment and treatment of youth with autism spectrum disorders. 

Erica Robinson, MDErica Robinson, MDDr. Erica Robinson completed psychiatry residency at Yale University.  She received her medical degree at the Donald and Barbara Zucker School of Medicine at Hofstra/Northwell in 2016.  During medical school, Dr. Robinson helped to found and direct the Students for Reproductive Rights, and was the co-president of the Psychiatry Interest Group. She also received a summer research scholarship to study the antenatal care, delivery experiences, and acquisition of knowledge of mothers from a migrant population in the Dominican Republic.  As a resident, Dr. Robinson designed and implemented a curriculum for psychiatry interns about Borderline Personality disorder.  Her project focuses on whether intervention can decrease stigma and was awarded “Best Poster” at the North American Society for the Study of Personality Disorders Annual Meeting.  Dr. Robinson is currently serving as both a Program-Wide Chief Resident and Chief of the mood disorders inpatient unit.