Diversity Committee

The Diversity Committee formed in 2000 to assist in recruiting trainees and faculty from diverse backgrounds, as well as those interested in diversity-related research or clinical practice.  The committee continues to assist in recruitment, but also brings diversity issues into everyday practice in the Clinical Psychology Training Programs at Brown. Faculty from the four training tracks (Adult, Health Psychology/Behavioral Medicine, and Neuropsychology), as well as postdoctoral fellows and clinical psychology residents, are represented on the committee.

Diversity within the Clinical Psychology Training Programs at Brown is defined broadly to include age, gender, race/ethnicity, sexual orientation, disabilities, and socio-economic background.

Roles of Diversity Committee

  • Assists with recruitment and orientation of trainees 
  • Conducts diversity-related training needs assessment of incoming clinical psychology residents and postdoctoral fellows
  • Assists with seminar planning on specific diversity topics 
  • Conducts evaluation of diversity-related content in didactics and overall training program 
  • Conducts faculty training on cultural competency
  • Hosts grand rounds speakers
  • Manages diversity mentoring program

 Committee Members

If you have suggestions or you are interested in joining the Diversity Committee, contact co-chairs Dr. Ernestine Jennings or Dr. Jacob van den Berg.

Training Directors:  
Suzanne Colby, PhD, Director, Center for Alcohol & Addiction Studies
Tracey Guthrie, MD, Director, General Psychiatry Residency Program
Elizabeth McQuaid, PhD, ABPP, Director, Clinical Psychology Training Programs at Brown
Adult Track: Neuropsychology Track:
Caron Zlotnick, PhD
Athene Lee, PhD
Cynthia Battle, PhD Natalie Noonan, PhD
Audrey Tyrka, MD, PhD
Behavioral Medicine Track:
Alcohol & Additions:
Carly Goldstein, PhD

Mark Celio, PhD

Kate Guthrie, PhD Lynn Hernandez, PhD
Ernestine Jennings, PhD
Caroline Kuo, DPhil

Hector Lopez-Vergara, PhD

Cara Murphy, PhD
Jacob van den Berg, PhD
Child/Pediatrics Track: Psychiatry: 
James Brcak, PsyD Daniella Palermo, MD
Maria Teresa Coutinho, PhD
Selby Conrad, PhD
Jennifer Hellmuth, PhD
Heather Hunter, PhD
Barbara Jandasek, PhD
Daphne Koinis-Mitchell, PhD

Vanessa Laurent, PhD
Stephanie Parade, PhD
Nicholas Tarantino, PhD
Postdoctoral Fellows:  Clinical Psychology Residents:   
Lydia Meshesha, PhD Lorra Garey
Von Marie Rodriguez-Guzman, PhD Michelle Haikalis
L.G. Rollins, PhD Caroline Holman
Sneha Thamotharon, PhD
Kelsey Kangos
Kristyn Wong, PhD Tatiana Karpouzian
Melissa Pielech
Craig Rodriguez-Seijas