Division of Trauma & Critical Care

Rhode Island Hospital serves as the Level I Trauma Center for southeastern New England. Rhode Island Hospital is verified by the American College of Surgeons as a Level I Trauma Center with both adult and pediatric capability. The mission of the Trauma/Critical Care Division is to provide the best trauma care to the injured patient. This includes both adult and pediatric burn patients. An equally important part of the Division's responsibility is the teaching of medical students, residents, and surgical critical care fellows, both at Rhode Island Hospital and at outside training programs.

Charles Adams, MD
Division Chief                           
Michael Connolly, MD                  Benjamin Hall, MD
David Harrington, MD
Daithi Heffernan, MD
Tareq Kheirbek, MD
Stephanie Lueckel, MD Sean Monaghan, MD      Andrew Stephen, MD   
Current Research
PI: Heffernan Sepsis Induced Changes in iNKT-Cells and Their Effect on Phagocyte Function
Period: 9/2015-8/2019       TC: $785,808
PI: Monaghan Immune Dysfunction in Critical Illness/Injury: Role of Alternative Splicing
Agency: American College of Surgeons
Period: 7/2016-12/2018   TC: $80,000

Alternative RNA Splicing of Endothelial Cell Adhesion Proteins in ARDS
Period 2/2018 - 5/2018    TC: $25,000