Pathology and Laboratory Medicine

 
Department of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine

›View Pathology and Laboratory Medicine site

The Department of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine bridges basic science, translational and clinical research, and diagnostic pathology. Seventy faculty members are located on the Brown campus, at the affiliated hospitals, the Rhode Island Blood Bank and the Office of the Medical Examiner at the Rhode Island Department of Health. All campus and hospital-based faculty participate in teaching and advising undergraduates, graduate students, medical students, residents, and postdoctoral and clinical fellows. The Department's residency program trains up to sixteen residents per year in anatomic and clinical pathology. Fellowships are offered in five subspecialty areas of pathology. The Department is home to a Superfund Basic Research Program and an NIEHS Training Program in Environmental Pathology. Clinical and translational research focuses on cancer, aging and neurodegenerative disease, and prenatal diagnosis and early pregnancy loss. Interdisciplinary research programs include global health, reproductive toxicology, and nanotechnology and nanotoxicology.

Name Contact
Ali Amin
Associate Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
ali_amin@brown.edu
(401) 793-7813
Melvin Andersen
Adjunct Assistant Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
melvin_andersen@brown.edu
Douglas Anthony
Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine, Professor of Neurology
douglas_anthony@brown.edu
(401) 444-5011
Jeffrey A Bailey
Mencoff Family Associate Professor of Translational Research, Associate Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
jeffrey_bailey@brown.edu
Priya Banerjee
Clinical Assistant Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
priya_banerjee@brown.edu
(401) 222-5500
James Barbeau
Associate Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine, Clinician Educator
james_barbeau@brown.edu
1(401)793-7636
Thomas B Bartnikas
Manning Assistant Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine, Assistant Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
thomas_bartnikas@brown.edu
(401) 863-5395
Richard J Bennett
Pathobiology Graduate Program Co-Director, Professor of Biology
richard_bennett@brown.edu
(401) 863-6341
Enrica Bianchi
Assistant Professor of Surgery (Urology) (Research), Assistant Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine (Research)
enrica_bianchi@brown.edu
(401) 863-2985
Mark Birkenbach
Associate Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
mark_birkenbach@brown.edu
(401) 606-4476
April Bobenchik
Assistant Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
april_bobenchik@brown.edu
(401) 444-4421
Kim Boekelheide
Professor of Medical Science, Director of Superfund Research
kim_boekelheide@brown.edu
(401) 863-1783
Lundy Braun
Professor of Medical Science, Professor of Africana Studies
lundy_braun@brown.edu
(401) 863-3308
Alexander S Brodsky
Assistant Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine (Research)
alexander_brodsky@brown.edu
(401) 444-1649
Julia G Brody
Adjunct Assistant Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
julia_brody@brown.edu
(401) 332-4288
Phil Brown
Adjunct Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
phil_brown@brown.edu
(401) 863-2633
Mariana Canepa
Assistant Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
mariana_canepa@brown.edu
(401) 444-6356
Weibiao Cao
Associate Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine, Associate Professor of Medicine
weibiao_cao@brown.edu
(401) 444-8308
Kimberle C Chapin
Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine, Professor of Medicine
kimberlec_chapin@brown.edu
(401) 444-2526
Sonja Chen
Assistant Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
sonja_chen@brown.edu
(617) 355-4586
Robbert J Creton
Professor of Medical Science (Research), Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine (Research)
robbert_creton_phd@brown.edu
(401) 863-9646
Suzanne M De La Monte
Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine, Professor of Neurosurgery
suzanne_delamonte_md@brown.edu
(401) 444-7364
Monique E De Paepe
Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
monique_depaepe@brown.edu
(401) 274-1122 x41544
John E Donahue
Associate Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine, Associate Professor of Neurology
john_donahue@brown.edu
Christopher Elco
Assistant Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine, Assistant Professor of Dermatology
christopher_elco@brown.edu
401-444-8515
A. R Frackelton
Adjunct Associate Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine (Research)
a_frackelton_jr@brown.edu
(401) 456-2320
Maria L Garcia-Moliner
Associate Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine, Clinician Educator
maria_garcia-moliner@brown.edu
(401) 444-4723
Ariel Goldschmidt
Clinical Assistant Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
ariel_goldschmidt@brown.edu
4012225510
Lisa J Goldstein
Clinical Assistant Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
lisa_goldstein@brown.edu
(401) 793-4246
Rogers C Griffith
Associate Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
rogers_griffith@brown.edu
(401) 444-8517
Ricky Grisson
Assistant Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
ricky_grisson@brown.edu
(401) 793-4212
Fusun Gundogan
Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
fusun_gundogan@brown.edu
(401) 274-1122 x41669
Volkan M Gurel
Adjunct Assistant Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
volkan_gurel@brown.edu
(401) 863-1646
L C Hanley
Assistant Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine, Clinician Educator
l_corey_hanley@brown.edu
(401) 274-1122 x41310
Katrine Hansen
Associate Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
h_katrine_hansen@brown.edu
(401) 274-1122
Jesse Hart
Assistant Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
jesse_hart@brown.edu
(401) 606-2082
Kathleen Hwang
Associate Professor of Surgery, Associate Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
kathleen_hwang@brown.edu
(401) 444-8570
Cynthia L Jackson
Associate Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
cynthia_jackson@brown.edu
(401) 444-4370
Elizabeth Kalife
Assistant Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
elizabeth_kalife@brown.edu
(401) 274-1122 x4-1148
Agnes B Kane
Professor of Medical Science
agnes_kane@brown.edu
(401) 863-1110
Karl T Kelsey
Professor of Epidemiology, Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
karl_kelsey@brown.edu
(401) 863-6420
Nicola M Kouttab
Adjunct Associate Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine (Research)
nicola_kouttab@brown.edu
(401) 456-6558
Habibe Kurt
Assistant Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
habibe_kurt@brown.edu
(401) 4441669
Jonathan D Kurtis
Stanley M. Aronson Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine, Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine, Chair of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
jonathan_kurtis@brown.edu
(401) 444-7375
Elizabeth A Laposata
Clinical Associate Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
elizabeth_laposata@brown.edu
(401) 863-1000
Syed A Latif
Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine, Clinician Educator
syed_a_latif@brown.edu
(401) 793-4272
W D Lawrence
Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
w_dwayne_lawrence@brown.edu
(401) 274-1122
Mark P Legolvan
Associate Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine, Clinician Educator
mark_legolvan@brown.edu
(401) 444-3122
N Libbey
Clinical Associate Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
n_libbey@brown.edu
(401) 456-2162
Yow-Pin Lim
Adjunct Associate Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
yow-pin_lim_md@brown.edu
(401) 301-2046
Michele M Lomme
Associate Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine, Clinician Educator
michele_lomme@brown.edu
(401) 274-1122
Shaolei Lu
Assistant Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
shaolei_lu@brown.edu
(401) 444-7498
Michal W Luczak
Assistant Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine (Research)
michal_luczak@brown.edu
(401) 863-3119
Sara Maleki
Assistant Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
sara_maleki@brown.edu
(401) 606-4691
Shamlal Mangray
Associate Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine, Clinician Educator
shamlal_mangray@brown.edu
Emily McDonald
Assistant Professor of Pediatrics (Research), Assistant Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine (Research)
emily_mcdonald@brown.edu
(401) 444-8180
Geralyn M Messerlian
Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine, Professor of Obstetrics and Gynecology
geralyn_messerlian@brown.edu
(401) 453-7793
Christian P Nixon
Assistant Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
christian_nixon@brown.edu
(401) 444-3164
Patricia M Ogera
Clinical Assistant Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
patricia_ogera@brown.edu
(401) 222-5500
Roberto Ortiz
Clinical Assistant Professor of Medicine, Clinical Assistant Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
roberto_ortiz@brown.edu
(401) 351-7100
Joyce Ou
Associate Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
joyce_ou@brown.edu
(401) 274-1122 x41336
Glenn E Palomaki
Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine (Research)
glenn_palomaki@brown.edu
(401) 657-7888
Cherie Paquette
Assistant Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
cherie_paquette@brown.edu
(401) 274-1122 x414397
Nimesh R Patel
Assistant Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
nimesh_patel@brown.edu
(401) 444-4000
Carmen Perrino
Assistant Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
carmen_perrino@brown.edu
(401) 444-4000
Chanika Phornphutkul
Associate Professor of Pediatrics, Associate Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
chanika_phornphutkul@brown.edu
(401) 444-5504
M H Pinar
Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
m_halit_pinar@brown.edu
(401) 274-1122
Latha R Pisharodi
Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine, Clinician Educator
latha_pisharodi@brown.edu
(401) 444-7826
Jessica S Plavicki
Assistant Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
jessica_plavicki@brown.edu
(401) 863-6112
M. Ruhul Quddus
Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
mohammad_quddus@brown.edu
(401) 274-1122
Dipak K Raj
Assistant Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine (Research)
dipak_raj@brown.edu
(401) 4440347
Murray Resnick
Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
murray_resnick@brown.edu
(401) 444-4380
Sharon I Rounds
Associate Dean for Clinical Affairs, Professor of Medicine, Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
sharon_rounds@brown.edu
(401) 863-1775
Jennifer A Sanders
Associate Professor of Pediatrics (Research), Associate Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine (Research)
jennifer_sanders@brown.edu
(401) 444-4975
Stanley Schwartz
Adjunct Assistant Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
stanley_schwartz@brown.edu
(401) 272-6189
Surendra Sharma
Professor of Pediatrics (Research), Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine (Research)
surendra_sharma@brown.edu
(401) 274-1288
Mark Sigman
Krishnamurthi Family Professor of Urology, Professor of Surgery (Urology), Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
mark_sigman@brown.edu
Kamaljeet Singh
Assistant Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
kamaljeet_singh@brown.edu
Daniel Spade
Assistant Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
daniel_spade@brown.edu
(401) 863-5726
Dariusz R Stachurski
Assistant Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine, Clinician Educator
darius_stachurski@brown.edu
(401) 444-6296
Edward G Stopa
Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
edward_stopa@brown.edu
(401) 444-5057
C J Sung
Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
c_sung@brown.edu
(401) 274-1122 x41177
Joseph D Sweeney
Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine, Professor of Medicine
joseph_sweeney@brown.edu
(401) 793-4810
Ross Taliano
Assistant Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
ross_taliano@brown.edu
Umadevi Tantravahi
Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine, Clinician Educator
umadevi_tantravahi@brown.edu
(401) 453-7537
Marcella R Thompson
Adjunct Assistant Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
marcella_thompson@brown.edu
(401) 863-3119
Diana O Treaba
Associate Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
diana_treaba@brown.edu
Dilber E Uzun
Assistant Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
dilber_gamsiz@brown.edu
(401) 863-9766
Charles A Vaslet
Assistant Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine (Research)
charles_vaslet@brown.edu
(401) 863-2051
Nicholas J Wald
Adjunct Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
nicholas_wald@brown.edu
+44 (20) 78826269
Li Juan Wang
Associate Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
lijuan_wang@brown.edu
(401) 444-8515
Yihong Wang
Associate Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
yihong_wang@brown.edu
(401) 444-9897
Elizabeth Y Wu
Assistant Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
elizabeth_wu@brown.edu
(401) 6064653
David Wyler
Adjunct Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine (Research)
david_wyler@brown.edu
Evgeny Yakirevich
Associate Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
evgeny_yakirevich@brown.edu
(401) 444-2780
Emine B Yalcin
Assistant Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine (Research)
emine_yalcin@brown.edu
(401) 444-2939
Carolyn T Young
Clinical Assistant Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
carolyn_young_md@brown.edu
(401) 453-8393
Anatoly Zhitkovich
Professor of Medical Science
anatoly_zhitkovich@brown.edu
(401) 863-2912