Awards and Honors

The BMAA sponsors a number of awards and honors to recognize distinguished alumni, faculty, and members of the community who support Alpert Medical School's mission and purpose.  If you would like to self nominate or  nominate someone for any of these awards, please complete the nomination form. 

Early Achievement Award

Given by the Brown Medical Alumni Association, this award will be presented to an alumnus who has graduated within the past 15 years in recognition of his/her outstanding service to the Medical School, their local community, or a scientific or academic achievement. Nominations for all years are welcome with milestone reunion classes highly encouraged to participate.

View 2016 Recipient - Rajiv Kumar '05 MD'11

The Artemis Joukowsky Award

Given by the Brown Medical Alumni Association to recognize a non-physician for long-term, dedicated and meritorious service to Brown’s Medical School. This award honors those whose devotion to the mission, beliefs, and aspirations of the Medical School have improved the lives of its students, faculty, alumni, and patients. It is named for Chancellor Emeritus Artemis Joukowsky ’55, the leading non-physician supporter of the Medical School during its first quarter century.

View past award recipients

View 2014 recipient - Stephen R. Ehrlich ‘55 and Mary Ann Ehrlich P’85

The W. W. Keen Award

The W. W. Keen Award is given by the Brown Medical Alumni Association to recognize outstanding contributions to medicine, encompassing research, education, leadership or extraordinary contributions to patient care or public health. Its scope may include the contributions of a lifetime or a single achievement. This award is the most coveted honor bestowed by Brown medicine to one of its own. The award is named for William Williams Keen, class of 1859, one of Brown’s most distinguished and well-known alumni in the medical profession.

View previous award recipients

View 2016 recipient - Governor Gina M. Raimondo

The Ruth B. Sauber Distinguished Alumni Lectureship 

The Ruth B. Sauber Distinguished Medical Alumni Lectureship has been Ruth Sauber with 2011 lecturer, Sandra Lehrman.Ruth Sauber with 2011 lecturer, Sandra Lehrman.established as an endowment and tribute to Mrs. Sauber’s uninterrupted 23 years as Medical Student Affairs Officer. It serves and fosters a lasting relationship between faculty, alumni and students in the Medical School. Mrs. Sauber was the only medical school administrator to have worked with every Brown medical student since the School’s inception in 1972 until her retirement in 1994.

The individual selected as the Ruth B. Sauber Distinguished Medical Alumni Lecturer should embody the philosophy of Brown’s medical education program, i.e., an individual who views medicine as a socially responsible human service profession. Ideally, the candidate will have contributed significantly to further the personal and professional development of medical students as well as the community-at-large.

Candidates are limited to Brown medical alumni, but can include Alpert Medical School faculty under extraordinary circumstances if their contribution to medical education was made, at least in part, while serving the University.

View past lecturers

View 2016 lecturer - Karen Furie ’87 MD’90 RES’94 F’95, P’19MD’23