Several Brown researchers earn prominent recognition

August 7, 2019
Warren Alpert Medical School
Warren Alpert Medical School

A number of faculty and researchers with the Warren Alpert Medical School at Brown University have been recognized with awards and distinction for the work in their field of study.

Brown University compiled a list of faculty campuswide who were recognized this spring -- a list that included several from Alpert Medical whose work has been instrumental in cutting-edge discoveries in their field.

Among those honored were the following:

Dr. Christian Arbelae, associate professor of emergency medicine, and Dr. Brian Clyne, associate professor of emergency medicine and medical science, were awarded by the Society for Academic Emergency Medicine.

Dr. Penelope Dennehy, professor and vice chair of pediatrics, earned an award as distinguished physician of the Pediatric Infectious Diseases Society.

Dr. Phyllis Dennery, professor of pediatrics and molecular biology, cell biology and biochemistry and chair of pediatrics, was elected the 2018-19 president of the Society for Redox Biology and Medicine.

Dr. Stefan Gravenstein, professor of medicine and health services, policy and practice, was named a fellow of the Gerontological Society of America.

Emilia Huerta-Sanchez, assistant professor of ecology and evolutionary biology, was selected for a Young Investigator Grant by the Human Frontiers Science Program.

Dr. Eleftherios Mylonakis, professor of infectious diseases, medicine and molecular microbiology and immunology and assistant dean of emergency medicine, and Dr. Louis Rice, professor of medicine and molecular biology and immunology and medicine department chair, were elected as members of the Association of American Physicians.

Dr. Maureen Phipps, professor of obstetrics and gynecology and epidemiology and chair of obstetrics and gynecology, was elected as president of the American Gynecological and Obstetrical Society.

Dr. Stephen Salloway, professor of psychiatry and human behavior and neurology, was inducted into the Rhode Island Heritage Hall of Fame.

Dr. Allan Tunkel, senior associate dean for medical education and professor of medicine, was given a Clinical Teacher Award from the Infectious Diseases Society of America.

Check out the Brown News story to read more about the incredible work being done by these researchers as well as others within the Brown community who are making a difference and confronting difficult problems in the world today.