Diversity, Equity, Inclusion, and Belonging (DEIB) Committee

The Diversity, Equity, Inclusion, and Belonging (DEIB) Committee assists in recruiting trainees and faculty from diverse backgrounds, as well as those interested in diversity-related research or clinical practice.  Faculty, postdoctoral fellows and clinical psychology residents are represented on the committee.

Diversity within the Clinical Psychology Training Programs at Brown is defined broadly to include age, gender, race/ethnicity, sexual orientation, disabilities, and socio-economic background.

Roles of DEIB Committee

  • Assists with recruitment and orientation of trainees 
  • Conducts diversity-related training needs assessment of incoming clinical psychology residents and postdoctoral fellows
  • Assists with seminar planning on specific diversity topics 
  • Conducts evaluation of diversity-related content in didactics and overall training program 
  • Conducts faculty training on cultural competency
  • Hosts grand rounds speakers
  • Manages diversity mentoring program

Committee Leadership

If you have suggestions or you are interested in joining the DEIB Committee, contact co-chairs Dr. Ernestine Jennings or Dr. Hayley Treloar Padovano.

Subcommittee Leadership
Training Subcommittee LG Ward, PhD, Lindsay Huffhines, PhD
Mentoring Subcommittee Athene Lee, PhD, Stephanie Parade, PhD
Newsletter Subcommittee Nicholas Tarantino, PhD
Internal Diversity Award Subcommittee Ernestine Jennings, PhD
Education/Outreach Subcommittee Athene Lee, PhD
Events Subcommittee Trisha Arnold, PhD
Recruitment Subcommittee Ernestine Jennings, PhD
Data Subcommittee Chrystal Vergara-Lopez, PhD