Medical Student Senate

The Medical Student Senate represents the medical student body before University and medical school administration and committees. We also provide a forum for issues important to medical students. In addition, we provide funding for student groups. If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to email us at ams-senate@brown.edu or reach out to any of the Executive Board officers (below).

Executive Board 2018-19

President Pete Mattson (peter_mattson@brown.edu)
Vice President Denise Marte (denise_marte@brown.edu)
Chair of Academics and Mentorship Eloho Akpovi (eloho_akpovi@brown.edu) Emily Macduffie (emily_macduffie@brown.edu)
Chairs of Finance and Membership Roja Garimella (roja_garimella@brown.edu)
Ron Akiki (ronald_akiki@brown.edu)
Chair of Institutional Affairs Soha Ghanian (soha_ghanian@brown.edu)
Chair of External Affairs Chloe Zimmerman (chloe_zimmerman@brown.edu)
Chair of Communications Erica Veazey (erica_veazey@brown.edu)

Class Representatives 2018-19

MD Class of 2019: Ananya Anand, Jessica Gardner, Rebecca Mendelsohn, Julia Solomon, Austin Tam, Alex Tran, Maddie Wozniak

MD Class of 2020: Pranav Aurora, Thea Belay, Joey Dizoglio, Julia Hadley, Sukrit Jain, Emily Macduffie, Nate Pertsch

MD Class of 2021: Eloho Akpovi, Joanna Georgakas, Beth Anne George, Todd Nguyen, Lauren Ready, Krissia Rivera, Carole Spake

MD Class of 2022: Gabi Dressler, Dan Kraft, Matt Navarro, Jamie Odzer, Shital Shah, Sachit Singal, Parker Woolley

Committee Representatives 2018-19

MDCC/Academics & Mentorship Committee

MD19: Jessica Gardner & Rebecca Mendelsohn 

MD20: Emily MacDuffie & Nate Pertsch

MD21: Eloho Akpovi (PCPM) & Joanna Georgakas

MD22: Gabi Dressler & Jamie Odzer

MD-PhD: Chris Barry

Academic Subcommittees

MD19: Maddie Wozniak, Ananya Anand, Julia Solomon

MD20: Sukrit Jain, Julia Hadley, Thea Belay

MD21: Todd Nguyen, Sophia Demuynck, and Sarena Hayer

MD22: Esther Wu, Christina Mata, Celina Hsieh