Brown University Orchestra

Sunday, October 20, 2019

3:00pm - 5:00pm

Sayles Hall

Conductor Mark Seto leads the BUO in a concert at Sayles Hall. Program includes music by Arturo Márquez, Felix Mendelssohn, and Igor Stravinsky. 2018 Concerto Competition winner Rebecca Qiu ’22, performs the Mendelssohn G Minor Piano Concerto. Tickets available for purchase at door: $15 general, $7 seniors, $3 students.

Arturo Márquez: Danzón No. 2

Felix Mendelssohn: Piano Concerto No. 1 in G Minor, Op. 25
Rebecca Qiu ’22, piano (Winner of the 2018 BUO Concerto Competition)

Igor Stravinsky: Petrushka (1911 Version)


About Rebecca Qiu, pianist

Originally from Toronto, Canada, Rebecca Qiu is a second-year student studying at Brown University. In the summer of 2017, Rebecca was awarded first prize at the National Finals of the Canadian Music Competition. She received the Chopin Trophy from CCC Toronto Piano Competition and Richard Blaha Memorial Silver Tray from Brantford Kiwanis Music Festival in Spring 2017 and Winter 2016 respectively. In 2016, she also completed her Associate Diploma of The Royal Conservatory of Music in Piano Performance (ARCT). At Brown, she has been an active participant in chamber music.

Rebecca began playing piano at the age of 5 under the tutelage of Professor Mei Lu of Central Conservatory of Music, China. In 2013, she began studying with Ms. Lydia Wong from the University of Toronto, Canada. She has also performed in masterclasses for Evelyn Brancart, Benjamin Pasternack, Ronan O’Hara, and Jean Saulnier.