Leadership and Administration

Department of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine at Brown University

Jonathan Kurtis, M.D., Ph.D.

Chair, Department of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
Stanley M. Aronson Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
Director of Laboratories, Center for International Health Research
Director, MD/PhD Program
401-444-7375

jonathan_kurtis@brown.edu

Administration

Laura Bridge

Department Manager
401-863-3119
Laura_Bridge@brown.edu

Richard Minogue

Financial/Grants Coordinator
401-863-6508
Richard_Minogue@brown.edu

Bijaya Karanjit

Administrative Coordinator
401-863-2913
Bijaya_Karanjit@brown.edu

Leadership and Administration at our Affiliated Hospitals

Lifespan Academic Medical Center

Douglas Anthony, M.D., Ph.D.

Vice Chair and Pathologist-in-Chief, Lifespan Academic Medical Center
401-444-5011
Douglas_Anthony@brown.edu

Murray Resnick, M.D., Ph.D.

Vice Chief of Pathology & Laboratory Medicine, Rhode Island Hospital
401-444-8515
Murray_Resnick@brown.edu

Administration

Kathy King

Pathology Manager
401-444-8515
kbking@lifespan.org

Betty Jane Sherman

Administrative Assistant
401-444-4483
bsherman@lifespan.org

Women and Infants Hospital of Rhode Island & Care New England Health System

C. James Sung, M.D.

Interim Pathologist-in-Chief, Women & Infants Hospital of Rhode Island; Interim Executive Chief of Pathology & Laboratory Medicine, Care New England Health System
401-274-1122 x 41177
Jsung@wihri.org

Administration

Jackie Vanasse

Administrative Supervisor
401-274-1122 x 41171
jvanasse@wihri.org

Susan Healey

Administrative Coordinator
401-274-1122 x 41148
shealey@wihri.org

Residency Training Program

Diana Treaba, M.D.

Program Director
dtreaba@lifespan.org

Katrine Hansen, M.D.

Associate Director
401-274-1100 x 41194
Khansen@wihri.org

Administration

Robin Kiernan

Residency/ Fellowship Training
Program Coordinator ar RIH 
rkiernan@lifespan.org

Fellowship Opportunities

Fusun Gundogan, M.D.

Developmental & Pediatric Pathology (subspecialty accredited)
Director 
fgundogan@wihri.org

 

Edward Stopa, M.D.

Neuropathology (subspecialty accredited)
Director
EStopa@lifespan.org

C. James Sung, M.D.

Gynecologic Pathology and Breast Pathology
Director
(401) 274-1122 x41177
jsung@wihri.org

Murray Resnick, M.D., Ph.D.

Gastrointestinal and Hepatic Pathology
Director
Murray_Resnick@brown.edu

Evgeny Yakirevich, M.D., D.Sc.

Surgical Pathology
Director
Evgeny_Yakirevich@brown.edu

 

Medical Education

Luba Dumenco, M.D.

Assistant Dean of Medical Education, 
Undergraduate Medical Educator and Pathology Course Director

401-863-3992
Luba_Dumenco@brown.edu



Joyce Ou, M.D., Ph.D.

Director of Preclinical Pathology Education
401-274-1122 x 41194
Joyce_Ou@brown.edu

     

L. Corey Hanley, M.D., F.C.A.P., F.A.S.C.P.

Associate Director of Preclinical Pathology Education
401-729-2393
L_Corey_Hanley@brown.edu

Graduate Education

Jonathan Reichner, Ph.D.

Director, Pathobiology Graduate Program
401-444-8683
Jonathan_Reichner@brown.edu

 

Richard Bennett, M.D,Ph.D.

Co-Director, Pathobiology Graduate Program
401-863-6341
Richard_Bennett@brown.edu

Administration

Michele Welindt

Pathobiology Program Coordinator
401-863-6847
Michele_Welindt@@brown.edu