"How charming is divine philosophy!
Not harsh and crabbed as dull fools suppose
But musical as is Apollo's lute
And a perpetual feast of nectared sweets" 
                         -John Milton


Welcome to the Brown University Philosophy Department!

The Department of Philosophy has had a long distinguished history at Brown University, and some renowned philosophers have taught, and are teaching, here.  The department's faculty offers expertise in all main areas of philosophy, including ethics and political philosophy, philosophy of mind, metaphysics, epistemology, philosophy of logic, philosophy of science, and philosophy of art, as well as the history of philosophy (including 19th and 20th century European philosophy).  In addition, the department offers many courses outside these main areas, such as, philosophy of/in literature, and feminist philosophy.  

The department houses a graduate program, which offers both PhD and Master's degrees, and an undergraduate program, which offers a flexible concentration and sponsors a Departmental Undergraduate Group (DUG). Students with questions about the concentration should contact the Director of Undergraduate Studies, Justin Broackes.

The department also sponsors several programs, including the Political Philosophy Workshop and the program for Ethical Inquiry; lecture series, including the Royce Lectures, the Brown/Blackwell Lectures, and the Shapiro Lectures; and conference series, such as the biannual Shapiro Conferences and the annual Shapiro Graduate Conferences.  

The department hosts BEARS, The Brown Electronic Article Review Service in Moral and Political Philosophy. The department also hosts frequent visiting scholars and professors from all over the world, and a Distinguished Visitor for one semester every other year. Every summer, the department offers a special Summer Immersion Program in Philosophy (SIPP@brown), designed to introduce members of groups traditionally underrepresented in our discipline to professional philosophy.

Upcoming Events

October 27th, 2017 3:30 pm - 5:30 pm
November 17th, 2017 1:00 pm - November 18th, 2017 6:30 pm

Department News

Congratulations to Han Li

Congratulations to Han Li, who has successfully defended his PhD dissertation The Demands of Epistemic Rationality:  Permissivism and Supererogation in July 2017. Han's dissertation advisor was Professor David Christensen.  Han will be Visiting Assistant Faculty at Kansas State University starting Fall 2017.

Congratulations to Jakob Reckhenrich

Congratulations to Jakob Reckhenrich, who has susccessfully defended his PhD dissertation Questions of Partiality:  What May and Must We Do for Friends and Strangers in June 2017.  Jakob's advisor was Professor David Estlund.

Congratulations to Nicholas Smyth

Congratulations to Nicholas Smyth, who has susccessfully defended his PhD dissertation Making Sense of Moral Progress in April 2017.  Nick's advisor was Professor Bernard Reginster.

Congratulations to Professor David Christensen

Congratulations to Professor David Christensen who has been selected to deliver the 2017–2018 Sanders Lecture at the 2018 Eastern Division meeting in Savannah, GA. The Sanders Lecture was...