Paul Guyer

Jonathan Nelson Professor of Humanities and Philosophy
Corliss Brackett 103
Spring 2020 office hours: Tuesdays 2:30-4PM and by appointment
[email protected]

Paul Guyer came to Brown in 2012 as the inaugural Jonathan Nelson Professor of Humanities and Philosophy. He is active in the Cogut Humanities Center as well as in the Philosophy Department.

Guyer received his PhD from Harvard in 1974, and taught at the University of Pittsburgh and the University of Illinois-Chicago before moving to the University of Pennsylvania, where he taught for thirty years. At Penn, he was the Florence R. C. Murray Professor in the Humanities. He has also been a visiting professor at Michigan, Princeton, and Harvard.

Guyer's interests include all areas of the philosophy of Kant, modern philosophy more generally, and the history of aesthetics. He is the author of nine books on Kant, including Kant and the Claims of Taste (1979), Kant and the Claims of Knowledge (1987), Kant (2006), Kant's Groundwork for the Metaphysics of Morals (2007), and Knowledge, Reason, and Taste: Kant's Response to Hume (2008). He is the editor of six anthologies of work on Kant, including three Cambridge Companions, and is co-editor of a volume on the work of his teacher Stanley Cavell. He is also the co-translator of the Critique of Pure Reason, the Critique of the Power of Judgment, and Kant's Notes and Fragments, all in the Cambridge Edition of Immanuel Kant, of which he is General Co-Editor. He is on numerous editorial boards, including those of The Kantian Review, Kant-Studien, and the Journal of Aesthetics and Art Criticism. Guyer's three-volume work, A History of Modern Aesthetics, will be published soon by Cambridge University Press. His next project is a study of the impact of Kant's moral philosophy on the subsequent history of philosophy, for a series on The Legacy of Kant that he is editing for Oxford University Press.

Guyer has just completed a term as President of the Eastern Division of the American Philosophical Association and is the current President of the American Society for Aesthetics. He is a Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and a former John Simon Guggenheim Fellow.