Brown Physics Professor Meenakshi Narain has been elected for a 2 year term as Chair of the Collaboration Board of U.S. institutions in the Compact Muon Solenoid (CMS) Collaboration.

In this capacity, she will represent the U.S. institutions to the management of the international CMS Collaboration at CERN and to the U.S. funding agencies. The Chair of the Collaboration Board plays a key role in shaping the vision and direction of the U.S. CMS collaboration within international CMS.  The U.S. CMS Collaboration is supported by the Department of Energy and the National Science Foundation and consists of over 1200 scientists, including physicists, students, engineers, and technicians, making it the largest national group in the international CMS Collaboration. The percentage of females in the collaboration is around 27%.
Discoveries from CMS experiment at the Large Hadron Collider (LHC) at CERN in Geneva, Switzerland, are revolutionizing our understanding of the universe. The U.S. CMS Collaboration is making significant contributions to nearly every aspect of the detector, including construction, installation, and data-taking. U.S. CMS also plays a major role in the construction and operation of the experiment's computing facilities and software that is used to analyze the unprecedented amount of data that CMS generates. These highly sophisticated computing tools allow physicists to operate the CMS detector, reconstruct the data, analyze it and, ultimately, make discoveries.
Professor Narain is an experimental high energy physicist. She as pursued her research with the LHC at CERN for over ten years. In 2012, Narain’s group had significant involvement in the discovery of the Higgs Boson. She is a Fellow of the American Physical Society, she has been a Wilson Fellow at Fermilab and has received a Professional Opportunities for Women in Research and Education grant, Major Research Infrastructure grants, and the CAREER Award from the National Science Foundation. She is also a recipient of the Outstanding Junior Investigator Award from the U.S. Department of Energy. Her current research is supported by the U.S. Department of Energy. She is a co-author on approximately over 500 peer-reviewed journals and has given numerous public lectures and invited conference presentations.