A virus reveals the physics of nanopores

Nanopores could provide a new way to sequence DNA quickly, but the physics involved isn’t well understood. That’s partly because of the complexities involved in studying the random, squiggly form DNA takes in solution. Researchers from Brown have simplified matters by using a stiff, rod-like virus instead of DNA to experiment with nanopores. Their research has uncovered previously unknown dynamics in polymer-nanopore interactions. Read More

(Distributed July 17, 2014)

LUX dark matter results confirmed

A new calibration of the Large Underground Xenon (LUX) dark matter detector brought a 10-fold increase in calibration accuracy, confirming findings announced last October from the instrument’s first 90-day run. If low-mass “WIMP” particles had passed through the detector, LUX would have found them. Read more

(Distributed February 21, 2014)

Paxson, faculty in DC for Higgs event

On Wednesday, Nov. 20, 2013, in Washington, D.C., President Christina Paxson and members of the Brown Department of Physics celebrated the role U.S. scientists played in the 40-year quest to find the Higgs boson. Read more

(Distributed November 25, 2013)

Brown/RISD/Erfurt team designs Techstyle Haus

Students at Brown, RISD, and the University of Applied Sciences Erfurt are tackling a great challenge: Build a house that uses 90 percent less energy than a typical house, make it liveable, flexible, durable, and lightweight enough to be shipped from Providence to France — and design it better than 19 other top teams from around the world. That’s the Solar Decathlon. The Brown-RISD-Erfurt team calls its entry the “Techstyle Haus.” Read more

(Distributed November 5, 2013)
Syndicate content Subscribe via RSS feed