Paxson, faculty in DC for Higgs event

On Wednesday, Nov. 20, 2013, in Washington, D.C., President Christina Paxson and members of the Brown Department of Physics celebrated the role U.S. scientists played in the 40-year quest to find the Higgs boson. Read more

(Distributed November 25, 2013)

Brown/RISD/Erfurt team designs Techstyle Haus

Students at Brown, RISD, and the University of Applied Sciences Erfurt are tackling a great challenge: Build a house that uses 90 percent less energy than a typical house, make it liveable, flexible, durable, and lightweight enough to be shipped from Providence to France — and design it better than 19 other top teams from around the world. That’s the Solar Decathlon. The Brown-RISD-Erfurt team calls its entry the “Techstyle Haus.” Read more

(Distributed November 5, 2013)

Brown Physicists Celebrate Roles in 2013 Nobel Prize

The Brown physics department gathered on October 8th to celebrate the awarding of the Nobel Prize in physics to François Englert and Peter Higgs “for the theoretical discovery of a mechanism that contributes to our understanding of the origin of mass of subatomic particles, and which recently was confirmed through the discovery of the predicted fundamental particle, by the ATLAS and CMS experiments at CERN's Large Hadron Collider.”  It was an especially delightful celebration because a prize fo

(Distributed October 21, 2013)

James Joy & Timothy Raben: 2012 Archambault Teaching Award Winners

2012 Archambault Teaching Award Winners Announced

2012 nominations produced an exceptionally strong pool of teaching award candidates who brought enthusiasm, professionalism and innovation to their classes, and provoked outstanding reviews from their students. We are awarding a first prize, a second prize, and three honorable mentions. Read more

(Distributed October 10, 2013)
Syndicate content Subscribe via RSS feed