Brown University SealBrown University

People

 
Faculty  |  Visiting  |  Emeritus  |  Affiliated  |  Graduate  |  Staff
 

Janet Blume

Interim Department Chair

Leonor Simas-Almeida

Director of Graduate Studies

Patricia Sobral

Director of Undergraduate Studies

Faculty

Onésimo T. Almeida

Professor of Portuguese & Brazilian Studies
Onesimo_Almeida@brown.edu

Anani Dzidzienyo

Associate Professor of Africana Studies and Portuguese & Brazilian Studies
Anani_Dzidzienyo@brown.edu

Roquinaldo Ferreira

Vasco da Gama Associate Professor of History and Portuguese & Brazilian Studies
Roquinaldo_Ferreira@brown.edu

James N. Green

Professor of History and Brazilian Studies
James_Green@brown.edu

Maria Pacheco

Adjunct Assistant Professor
Maria_Pacheco@brown.edu

Naomi Parker

Adjunct Lecturer in Portuguese & Brazilian Studies
Naomi_Parker@brown.edu

Leonor Simas-Almeida

Director of Graduate Studies
Distinguished Senior Lecturer in Portuguese & Brazilian Studies
Leonor_Goncalves_Simas-Almeida@brown.edu

Sara Smith

Adjunct Lecturer
Sara_Smith@brown.edu

Patricia Sobral

Director of Undergraduate Studies
Senior Lecturer in Portuguese & Brazilian Studies
Patricia_Sobral@brown.edu

Luiz Fernando Valente

Professor of Portuguese & Brazilian Studies and Comparative Literature
Luiz_Valente@brown.edu

Nelson H. Vieira

University Professor and Professor of Portuguese & Brazilian Studies and Judaic Studies
Nelson_Vieira@brown.edu

Visiting Faculty, Instructors and PostDocs

Rita Carvalho

FLAD/Michael Teague Visiting Lecturer of Portuguese & Brazilian Studies
cristovam_cipriano_almeida_de_
carvalho1@brown.edu

Jessica Carneiro

Fulbright Teaching Assistant
jessica_carneiro@brown.edu

Carlos Pittella

Postdoctoral Research Associate in Portuguese & Brazilian Studies
carlos_pittella@brown.edu

Emeritus Faculty

George Monteiro

Adjunct Professor, Professor Emeritus of English and Portuguese and Brazilian Studies
George_Monteiro@brown.edu

Affiliated Faculty

Geri Augusto

Visiting Associate Professor of Africana Studies
Geri_Augusto@brown.edu

Keisha-Khan Y. Perry

Associate Professor of Africana Studies
Keisha-Khan_Perry@brown.edu

Christopher Joshua Tucker

Assistant Professor of Music
Joshua_Tucker@brown.edu

Leah VanWey

Associate Professor of Sociology
Leah_Vanwey@brown.edu

Graduate Students

Portuguese and Brazilian Studies

Pedro Lopes de Almeida

Pedro_LopesdeAlmeida@brown.edu

Renato Amado Barreto

Renato_Barreto@brown.edu

Marcos Cerdeira

Marcos_Cerdeira@brown.edu

Patrícia Ferreira

Patricia_Martinho_Ferreira@brown.edu

Adi Gold

Adi_Gold@brown.edu

Chloe Hill

Chloe_Hill@brown.edu

Jordan Jones

Jordan_Jones@brown.edu

Nicolas Barbosa Lopez

Nicolas_Barbosa_Lopez@brown.edu

David Mittelman David_Mittelman@brown.edu Luiz (Luca) Prazeres Luiz_Prazeres@brown.edu Abner Santos Abner_Santos@brown.edu Hasan Shahid Hasan_Shahid@brown.edu Torin K Spangler Torin_Spangler@brown.edu Sílvia Cabral Teresa Silvia_Cabral_Teresa@brown.edu Flora Thomson-DeVeaux Flora_Thomson-Deveaux@brown.edu Lucas Wakefield Lucas_Wakefield@brown.edu

ESL Education and Cross-Cultural Studies

Marie Arbelaez

marie_arbelaez@brown.edu

Jessica Fagundes

jessica_fagundes@brown.edu

Lisa Gomes

lisa_gomes@brown.edu

Jenny Guzman Polanco

jenny_guzman_polanco@brown.edu

Renee Haggerty

renee_haggerty@brown.edu

Olu Jones

olu_jones@brown.edu




Jennifer McCaughey

jennifer_mccaughey@brown.edu

Emily McKenna

emily_mckenna@brown.edu

Stephanie Principe

Kristen Slovak Nichols

kristen_nichols@brown.edu

Denise Smith

Aracelis Sosa Boucher

aracelis_sosa_boucher@brown.edu

Staff

Armanda Silva

Academic Department Manager
Armanda_Silva@brown.edu

Tel: (401) 863-3042
Fax: (401) 863-7261

Kate Beall

Publications and Program Coordinator
Kaitlin_Beall@brown.edu

Tel: (401) 863-2695
Fax: (401) 863-7261