Faculty

Faculty in BSS conduct collaborative research across disciplines with a substantive focus on behavioral health issues related to alcohol and other drug abusesmoking and tobacco useobesity, nutrition, and physical activityHIV and sexually transmitted infectionsbehavioral medicine; and health disparities and culture.  

Primary Appointments
Public Health Practice and Clinical Faculty
Secondary Appointments
Adjunct Faculty and Research Associates
Emeriti
In Memorium

Department Chair:  Christopher W. Kahler, Ph.D.

Primary Appointments

Elizabeth Aston
Assistant Professor (Research) 
Behavioral and pharmacological effects of marijuana; co-use of marijuana and alcohol; behavioral economics of substance use
Elizabeth_Aston@brown.edu 

Nancy Barnett
Professor (Research), Associate Dean for Faculty Affairs 
Brief alcohol interventions; naturalistic change in problematic alcohol use; alcohol biosensor technology research; computer-based assessment and intervention; adolescent and young adult populations
Nancy_Barnett@brown.edu 

Sara Becker
Assistant Professor (Research) 
Adolescent substance use; Direct-to-consumer marketing of evidence-based interventions; Dissemination and implementation approaches
Sara_Becker@brown.edu 

Katie Biello
Assistant Professor (Research) 
HIV/STI prevention in marginalized populations, both domestically and internationally; social and sexual network analysis; social and behavioral determinants of health; racial/ethnic, gender, and sexual minority health inequities
Katie_Biello@brown.edu 

Kate Carey
Professor; Doctoral Graduate Program Director
Screening and brief interventions for at-risk drinkers; understanding mediators and moderators of intervention effects; social influences (e.g., perceived norms) on drinking behavior; assessing and enhancing motivation to change; alcohol’s effects on HIV risk behaviors
Kate_Carey@brown.edu

Rachel Cassidy 
Assistant Professor (Research) 
Tobacco regulatory research; Adolescent smoking; e-cigarette use behaviors; smoking cessation; behavioral economics.  
Rachel_Cassidy@brown.edu

Mark A. Celio
Assistant Professor (Research) 
Uses qualitative and experimental methodology to better understand alcohol influences on sexual decision making.
Mark_Celio@brown.edu 

Patricia Cioe
Assistant Professor (Research) 
HIV; smoking cessation; health promotion; cardiovascular risk; behavior change.
Patricia_Cioe@brown.edu

Shira Dunsiger
Assistant Professor (Research)
Advanced statistical methodology; Mediators and moderators of treatment effects; Patterns of behavior change; Methods for analyzing longitudinal incomplete binary data; Effects of Adherence on Behavioral Outcomes.
Shira_Dunsiger@ brown.edu

Kristi Gamarel 
Investigator
Social psychological determinants of HIV and substance use with a particular emphasis on identifying the dyadic, interpersonal processes that protect and inhibit the health of socially disadvantaged groups. 
Kristi_Gamarel@brown.edu 

Abigail Harrison
Assistant Professor (Research)
Global health; social and contextual determinants of HIV/AIDS in South Africa; adolescent sexual risk behaviors and the transition to adulthood; gender, fertility and reproductive health; health disparities and structural interventions; qualitative and mixed methods research.
Abigail_Harrison@brown.edu

Lynn Hernandez
Assistant Professor (Research)
Culturally appropriate intervention development, ethnocultural moderators of treatment outcomes; adolescents’ substance use and sexual risk trajectories
Lynn_Hernandez@brown.edu

Kristina Jackson
Professor (Research)
Developmental course, alcohol, initiation, progression, trajectories, adolescents, alcohol-tobacco comorbidity; longitudinal methodology and analysis, fine-grained data collection
Kristina_Jackson@brown.edu

Christopher Kahler
Professor; Department Chair
Smoking cessation; brief alcohol interventions; co-use of alcohol and tobacco; personality, affect, and addictions; alcohol and HIV/AIDS; positive psychology and positive psychotherapy
Christopher_Kahler@brown.edu

Akilah Dulin Keita
Assistant Professor
Neighborhood contexts of diet, physical activity, and obesity-related comorbidities; processes of neighborhood dynamics resulting from urban revitalization policies and public health interventions and the potential effects on the aforementioned behavioral and health outcomes; mixed methods approaches to identifying culturally appropriate childhood obesity interventions for under-served Asian populations; the roles of psychosocial stressors on health behaviors and cardiovascular disease risk factors
Akilah_Dulin_Keita@brown.edu

Caroline Kuo
Assistant Professor (Research)
Family behavioral and psychosocial interventions; culturally and contextually appropriate intervention adaptation and development; new HIV prevention strategies in vulnerable global populations; community-engaged HIV research and dissemination
Caroline_Kuo@Brown.edu

Molly Magill
Associate Professor (Research)
Addictions treatment, behavioral or psychosocial interventions, longitudinal data-analysis; mechanisms of behavior change; mediators/moderators of treatment outcomes; process research
Molly_Magill@brown.edu

Kristine Marceau 
Assistant Professor (Research) 
Developmental trajectories of behavior problems and substance use; genetics, prenatal risk, neuroendocrine development, parenting; longitudingal data analysis and methodology
Kristine_Marceau@brown.edu

Rosemarie Ann Martin
Assistant Professor (Research)
Contingency management; motivating behavior change; design and methodology in substance abuse research, treating substance abuse in HIV+ persons
Rosemarie_Martin@brown.edu

Jennifer Merrill 
Assistant Professor (Research)
Alcohol misuse and consequences among young adults; subjective evaluations of alcohol-related consequences; use of ecological momentary assessment to understand young adult drinking; brief alcohol interventions. 
Jennifer_Merrill@brown.edu

Jane Metrik
Assistant Professor (Research)
Pharmacological and psychological bases of acute effects of marijuana on behavior and decision-making process; genetic factors and other individual differences characterizing users most vulnerable to development of cannabis use disorders; alcohol marijuana interactions and cross-reactivity
Jane_Metrik@brown.edu

Matthew Mimiaga 
Professor; Director, Institute for Community Health Promotion 
HIV/AIDS; sexual and gender minority health; mental health and substance use disorders (behavioral medicine intervention development and testing); psychiatric and infectious disease epidemiology; global health
Matthew_Mimiaga@brown.edu

Mollie Monnig
Assistant Professor (Research)

Alcohol and HIV; her research examines the brain’s white matter in alcohol use disorders using magnetic resonance imaging.
Mollie_Monnig@brown.edu

Peter M. Monti
Donald G. Miller Distinguished Professor of Alcohol and Addiction Studies; Director, Centor for Alcohol and Addiction Studies
Alcohol treatment; brief interventions; mechanisms of change; cue reactivity; pharmacotherapy; adolescent use and abuse; alcohol and HIV/AIDs
Peter_Monti@brown.edu

Amy Nunn
Associate Professor (Research Scholar); Executive Director, RI Public Health Institute
Racial disparities in HIV infection and linkage to care in the US; working with faith and other community leaders to eradicate racial disparities in HIV infection in the US; access to medicines and other technologies in developing countries, and community-based research and mobilization.
amycitanunn@gmail.com

Don Operario
Professor; Associate Dean for Academic Affairs
HIV prevention in high-risk communities - domestic and international; behavioral/social determinants of health in race/ethnic, gender and sexual minority populations
Don_Operario@brown.edu

Patricia Risica
Assistant Professor of Epidemiology (Research) 
Obesity, nutritional epidemiology and eating behaviors; the influence of location of fat on the body with disease risk; weight gain during pregnancy and keeping weight after pregnancy; breastfeeding; and diabetes, heart disease and obesity among African American women, in addition to Alaska Natives and other native peoples around the polar parts of the globe.
Patricia_Risica@Brown.edu 

Damaris Rohsenow
Professor (Research) 
Pharmacotherapy and behavioral treatment for smoking among substance abusers; effects of pharmacotherapies for alcohol or smoking on mechanisms of effect; cue reactivity; measures development for alcohol, smoking, cocaine use/abuse/treatment; behavioral treatments for cocaine dependence
Damaris_Rohsenow@brown.edu

Rochelle Rosen
Assistant Professor (Research)
Design of culturally relevant health behavior interventions using qualitative methodology; health research in the Pacific islands of American Samoa; vaginal microbicide acceptability
Rochelle_Rosen@brown.edu

Cynthia Rosengard
Associate Professor (Research)
Understanding contextual influences on adolescents' and young adults' sexual and reproductive health behaviors. Development, evaluation, and dissemination of evidenced-based interventions to decrease sexually-transmitted infections and unintended pregnancy.
Cynthia_Rosengard@Brown.edu

Jacob Vandenberg
Assistant Professor of Medicine (Research)
The development and evaluation of community-based behavioral and biomedical health interventions for underserved and marginalized groups. Advancing the integration of health informatics (eHealth/mHealth) and behavioral strategies for preventing HIV/STIs among MSM. 
Jacob_Vandenberg@brown.edu

Tara White
Assistant Professor (Research)
Neural basis of individual differences in emotion and drug effects using fMRI, monoamine challenge; validated laboratory assessments of temperament, affect and behavior
Tara_White@brown.edu

David Williams
Associate Professor; Master's Graduate Program Director
Role of affect in health behavior; exercise promotion; smoking cessation; health behavior theory testing and development
David_M_Williams@brown.edu

Tyler Wray
Assistant Professor (Research)
Using technology to prevent HIV/STIs and improve care; Alcohol and HIV; Statistical learning; Adaptive ecological and “just-in-time” interventions; User-centered design; Addictions; Healthcare use and adherence
Tyler_Wray@brown.edu

Go to top

Public Health Practice and Clinical Faculty

Medeva Ghee
Assistant Professor of the Practice
The Leadership Alliance
Medeva_Ghee@brown.edu

Chad Gwaltney 
Assistant Professor of the Practice
Chad_Gwaltney@brown.edu 

Allison Minugh
Clinical Assistant Professor
Patricia_Minugh@brown.edu

Daniel Squires 
Assistant Professor of the Practice
Daniel_Squires@brown.edu

Go to top

Secondary Appointments

Bruce Becker
Professor of Medicine
Smoking cessation in the clinical setting; ADHD/ADD, injuries, and treatment adherence; Improving IV Cannulatioin in children and adults in the Emergency Department
bbecker@lifespan.org

Beth Bock
Professor of Psychiatry & Human Behavior (Research)
Developing and testing innovative interventions for smoking cessation, exercise promotion, with an emphasis on the use of computer-based and mobile technologies to promote health behavior change.  Development of new behavioral theory to enhance our understanding of the process of decision making for stopping drug use among incarcerated individuals. 
bbock@lifespan.org

Willoughby Britton
Assistant Professor of Psychiatry & Human Behavior (Research)
Sleep, emotional disturbances, and new treatment/prevention strategies for mood disorders. The neurophysiological effects of mindfulness meditation in depression, including executive, affective, sleep, EEG, and endocrine functioning.
Willoughby_Britton@brown.edu

Michael Carey
Professor of Psychiatry and Human Behavior
Behavioral assessment and interventions for sexual risk reduction, HIV/STD prevention, and sexual health promotion; mechanisms of health behavior change; health promotion for multiple health behaviors; health disparities.
Michael_Carey@brown.edu

Suzanne Colby
Professor of Psychiatry and Human Behavior (Research)
Laboratory and clinical studies, treatment development, and instrumentation research related to adolescent and young adult substance use disorders. Innovative interventions targeting heavy drinking, HIV risk behavior, and smoking in various poplulations including adolescents, young adults, adults receiving emergency medical care, and adults with schizophrenia.
Suzanne_Colby@brown.edu

Kathleen Guthrie
Associate Professor of Psychiatry and Human Behavior (Research) 
HIV/STI prevention and reproductive health: evaluating user sensory perceptions and experiences of biomedical prevention technologies, such as vaginal and rectal microbicides and multipurpose prevention technologies; assessing product perceptibility, acceptability and use behaviors (adherence); biomedical prevention technology design and development; assessment and prevention intervention development.
kate.guthrie@lifespan.org

Carolina Haass-Koffler
Assistant Professor (Research) 
Transitional research (neuroscience-human laboratory studies) examining biobehavioral mechanisms of addiction, focus on: stress (HPA/extrahypothalamic), neuroendocrine pathways (brain-gut axis, ghrelin, leptin, insulin) and ethanol pharmacokinetics/pharmacodynamics modeling.
Carolina_Haass-Koffler@brown.edu

Valerie Knopik
Professor of Psychiatry and Human Behavior  (Research)
The joint effects and interaction of genetic and environmental (specifically prenatal and early postnatal) risk factors on childhood externalizing behavior (e.g., Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder, Conduct Disorder, Oppositional Defiant Disorder) and associated learning and cognitive deficits.
Valerie_Knopik@brown.edu

Lori A.J. Scott-Sheldon
Associate Professor of Psychiatry and Human Behavior (Research)
Methodological and statistical tools for evidence-based medicine; meta-analysis; health promotion and disease prevention; sexual health; alcohol; HIV/AIDS; global health.
Lori_Scott-Sheldon@Brown.edu

Laura Stroud
Associate Professor of Psychiatry and Human Behavior (Research)
Biobehavioral mechanisms of risk for depression and addiction (smoking/nicotine dependence); focus on child/adolescent and perinatal-fetal-infant transitions; physiological (HPA, neuroendocrine) responses to stress  in children/adolescents, infants, and pregnant mothers; HPA and fMRI response to social stressors in relation to risk for depression/addiction, maternal smoking and depression during pregnancy and effects on fetal and infant stress response and neurobehavior, emergence of sex differences in depression across the adolescent transition.
Laura_Stroud@Brown.edu

Jennifer Tidey
Associate Professor of Psychiatry and Human Behavior (Research) 
Tobacco regulatory science; smoking and other drug use in people with psychiatric illness; human behavioral pharmacology laboratory research; contingency management.
Jennifer_Tidey@Brown.edu

Golfo Tzilos
Assistant Professor of Psychiatry and Human Behavior (Research)
Brief interventions for HIV/STI risk behaviors, alcohol and drug use; computer-delivered SBIRT;  high-risk, underserved women populations.
Golfo_Tzilos@brown.edu

Margaret Wool
Clinical Associate Professor of Family Medicine
The interface and interaction of personal/psychological adjustment and medical illness, particularly psychosocial oncology. Clinical practice; teaching at the undergraduate, graduate level, and medical school; and collaborative research.
Margaret_Wool@brown.edu

Go to top

Adjunct Faculty and Research Associates

Timothy Apodaca
Associate Professor
University of Missouri
Timothy_Apodaca@brown.edu

Belinda Borrelli
Professor 
Boston University
Belinda_Borrelli@Brown.edu

Brian Borsari 
Professor 
University of California, San Francisco
Brian_Borsari@brown.edu

Jordan Braciszewski
Assistant Professor
PIRE Decision Sciences Institute
Jordan_Braciszewski@brown.edu

Maria Inês Costa Dourado
Associate Professor
Federal University of Bahia (Brazil)
Ines_Dourado@brown.edu

Catherine Dube
Associate Professor
UMass Medical School
Catherine_Dube@brown.edu

Christianne Esposito-Smythers
Assistant Professor (Research)
George Mason University
cesposi1@gmu.edu

Kim Gans 
Professor 
University of Connecticut
kim.gans@uconn.edu

Irene Glasser
Research Associate
Irene_Glasser@brown.edu

Bettina Hoeppner
Assistant Professor
Mass General Hospital
Bettina_Hoeppner@brown.edu

John Kelly
Associate Professor
Mass General Hospital
John_Kelly@brown.edu

Susan Kiene
Professor
San Diego State University
Susan_Kiene@brown.edu

Lorenzo Leggio
Associate Professor
National Institutes of Health
lorenzo.leggio@nih.gov

Kimberly Leite-Morris
Assistant Professor 
Boston University School of Medicine
Kimberly_Leite-Morris@brown.edu

James MacKillop
Professor
McMaster University
jmackill@mcmaster.ca

Ethan Mereish
Assistant Professor
American University
mereish@american.edu

Nadine Mastroleo 
Assistant Professor (Research)
SUNY Binghamton
Nadine_Mastroleo@brown.edu

Sarah Nadimpalli
Research Associate 
Sarah_Nadimpalli@brown.edu

Allecia Reid
Assistant Professor
Colby College
allecia.reid@colby.edu

Sarah Skeels
Teaching Associate
Sarah_Skeels@brown.edu

Nichea Spillane 
Assistant Professor 
University of Rhode Island
nspillane@uri.edu                                                                                        

Go to top

Emeriti

Donald Giddon
Clinical Professor
Donald_Giddon@brown.edu

Lois Monteiro
Professor
Lois_Monteiro@brown.edu

William Rakowski 
Professor 
William_Rakowski@brown.edu

In Memoriam

Albert Wesson
Professor Emeritus

Mark Wood
Professor, University of Rhode Island

Go to top

Professor and Chair Chris Kahler received the 2015 Dean's Award for Excellence in Classroom Teaching in Public HealthProfessor and Chair Chris Kahler received the 2015 Dean's Award for Excellence in Classroom Teaching in Public Health