People

Leadership


Matthew J. Mimiaga, ScD, MPH
Director, Institute for Community Health Promotion
Professor of Behavioral & Social Health Sciences and Epidemiology, School of Public Health
Professor of Psychiatry & Human Behavior, Alpert Medical School 
(tenured)
View research profile
Matthew_Mimiaga@brown.edu

Core Faculty

Katie B. Biello, PhD, MPH
Assistant Professor of Behavioral & Social Health Sciences and Epidemiology
View research profile
Katie_Biello@brown.edu


Akilah Dulin Keita, PhD
Manning Assistant Professor of Behavioral and Social Health Sciences
View research profile
Akilah_Dulin_Keita@brown.edu


Amy Nunn, ScD, MS
Associate Professor of Medicine and Behavioral & Social Health Sciences
View research profile
Amy_Nunn@brown.edu




Patricia Markham Risica, DrPH, RD

Assistant Professor of Epidemiology
View research profile
Patricia_Risica@brown.edu


David M. Williams, PhD
Associate Professor of Behavioral and Social Health Sciences (tenured)
View research profile
David_M_Williams@brown.edu

Adjunct Faculty

Kim M. Gans, PhD, MPH, LDN
Professor of Human Development and Family Studies, University of Connecticut
Adjunct Professor of Behavioral and Social Sciences, Brown University
View research profile
Kim_Gans@brown.edu


Bess H. Marcus, PhD
Professor and Chair, Department of Family Medicine and Public Health, UC San Diego School of Medicine
Adjunct Professor of Psychiatry and Human Behavior, Brown University
View research profile
Bess_Marcus@brown.edu

Administrative Staff

Leslie Strolla
Manager of Finance & Administration
Leslie_Strolla@brown.edu

Aimee McDermott
Administrative Coordinator
Aimee_McDermott@brown.edu

Kaley Mitchell
Grants and Contracts Coordinator
Kaley_Mitchell@brown.edu 

Research and Program Staff

Ashanti Avalos
Research Assistant
Ashanti_Avalos@brown.edu

Jennifer Mello
Statistical Programmer
Jennifer_Mello@brown.edu

Viveka Ayala-Heredia
Research Assistant
Viveka_Ayala-Heredia@brown.edu

Vanessa Palomo
Intervention Coordinator
Vanessa_Palomo@brown.edu

Hilda Castillo
Field Coordinator
Hilda_Castillo@brown.edu

Redentora Reyes
Data Assistant/Interviewer
Redentora_Reyes@brown.edu

Laura Dionne
Data Manager
Laura_Dionne@brown.edu

Peter Salhaney
Research Assistant
Peter_Salhaney@brown.edu

Michelle Loxley
Programmer/Database Manager
Michelle_Loxley@brown.edu

 

Postdoctoral Research Fellows & Associates

Lauren Connell
PhD, Pennsylvania State University
Postdoctoral Fellow
Lauren_Connell@brown.edu

John Frank
PhD, New York University; Internship, McGaw Medical Center at Northwestern University
Postdoctoral Fellow
John_Frank@brown.edu

Sarah Nadimpalli, RN, MA, PhD (New York University)
Research Associate
Sarah_Nadimpalli@brown.edu

Doctoral Students

 

 

 

 

Alberto Edeza, BS 2016, USC
Behavioral and Social Health Sciences
Alberto_Edeza@brown.edu
Advisor: Katie Biello

 

 

 

 

Harold Lee, MAPP 2014, University of Pennsylvania; MS 2013, University of Connecticut
Behavioral and Social Health Sciences
Harold_Lee@brown.edu
Advisor: David Williams

 

 

 

 

 

Jessica Emerson, ScM, Brown University
Behavioral and Social Health Sciences
Jessica_Emerson@brown.edu
Advisor: David Williams

 

 

 

 

 

Adedotun Ogunbajo, MPH 2016, Yale University
Behavioral and Social Health Sciences
Adedotun_Ogunbajo@brown.edu
Advisor: Matthew Mimiaga

 

 

 

 

 

Augustine Kang, MS, National University of Singapore
Behavioral and Social Health Sciences
Augustine_Kang@brown.edu
Advisor: Akilah Dulin Keita 

 

 

 

 

 

Arjee Restar, MPH 2016, Columbia University
Behavioral and Social Health Sciences
Arjee_Restar@brown.edu
Advisor: Matthew Mimiaga

Master's Students

Laura H. McPeake, MD
Hospital Affiliations: Rhode Island Hospital, The Miriam Hospital
Behavioral and Social Health Sciences
Laura_McPeake@brown.edu
Advisor: Matthew Mimiaga