epi.jpgThe primary mission of the Department of Epidemiology is to provide excellence in teaching and training in the field of epidemiology. The epidemiology graduate program offers a doctoral degree which will prepare students for careers in research or professions in public health which require knowledge of advanced epidemiologic methods. The ScM in Epidemiology will no longer be offered beginning with the Fall 2020 application cycle. Prospective ScM/MPH students are encouraged to explore the rigorous, research-intensive Epidemiology concentration in the Brown MPH, a two-year professional degree that includes an internship, thesis, and the option of customizing your degree with one of several specialized concentrations.

We excel in research, education, and service covering the entire life-course for health outcomes in diverse populations, particularly focusing on critical windows of development (i.e., during and after pregnancy and during childhood and young adulthood). There are 17 primary faculty and more than 30 additional faculty associated with the Department of Epidemiology at the Brown School of Public Health.

Our faculty are world-renowned researchers whose expertise include cancer, environmental health, global health, mental health, infectious disease, maternal and child health, molecular, health disparities, obesity, substance use, mindfulness, and epidemiologic methods. We also collaborate with faculty in social sciences, basic biomedical sciences, and clinical departments at Alpert Medical School and its seven affiliated hospitals (e.g., Cardiology, Endocrinology, Obstetrics/GynecologyPediatrics, and Psychiatry). Our department includes faculty engaged full-time in research and teaching, as well as importantly clinical faculty and faculty members jointly appointed with Brown University and the Rhode Island Health Department.