Congratulations to the 2021 Nora Kahn Piore Award Winners

The Nora Kahn Piore Award was established in recognition of the lifetime work of health policy expert, Nora Kahn Piore through the generosity of Margot Piore Onek, MD ’64, P’91 and Joseph N. Onek. These awards are made annually to support undergraduate, graduate, and medical students undertaking research in health services, with a focus on health status and access to health care by poor and underserved populations. In 2021, more than $15,000 will be distributed to the following six students to support their research projects. Congratulations to this year's awardees!

Haley Adrian, Master's student in Global Health
Acceptability of Long-acting Injectable Pre-exposure Prophylaxis among Underserved and Vulnerable Men in Coastal Kenya

Teresa DeAtley, doctoral candidate in Behavioral and Social Health Sciences
Subjective Experiences and Policy Perceptions of Very Low Nicotine Content Cigarettes among Smokers with Affective Disorders

Emma Tucher, doctoral candidate in Health Services Research 
Understanding Drivers of Health Care and Social Services Partnerships to Address the Social Needs of High-Risk Older Adults

Neha Reddy, student in the Warren Alpert Medical School
Experiences of Patients involved with Rhode Island Child Protective Services due to Healthcare Provider Mandatory Reporting Policies

Pablo Kokay Valente, doctoral candidate in Behavioral and Social Health Sciences
PrEP Implementation among Transgender Women: Healthcare Providers’ Perspectives

Katyayni Seth, doctoral candidate in Anthropology
Caring for Children with Seizures in Uttar Pradesh, India