People

Leadership



David M. Williams, PhD

Associate Professor of Behavioral & Social Sciences and Psychiatry & Human Behavior
Director, Master's Program in Behavioral and Social Health Sciences
Director, Center for Health Equity Research
View research profile
David_M_Williams@brown.edu

Core Faculty


Katie B. Biello, PhD, MPH

Assistant Professor of Behavioral & Social Sciences and Epidemiology
View research profile
Katie_Biello@brown.edu



Akilah Dulin Keita, PhD

Manning Assistant Professor of Behavioral & Social Sciences
View research profile
Akilah_Dulin_Keita@brown.edu



Bess H. Marcus, PhD
Dean, Brown University School of Public Health
View research profile
Bess_Marcus@brown.edu



Matthew J. Mimiaga, ScD, MPH
Professor of Behavioral & Social Sciences and Epidemiology, School of Public Health
Professor of Psychiatry & Human Behavior, Alpert Medical School 
View research profile
Matthew_Mimiaga@brown.edu



Amy Nunn, ScD, MS

Associate Professor of Medicine and Behavioral & Social Sciences
View research profile
Amy_Nunn@brown.edu





Patricia Markham Risica, DrPH, RD

Associate Professor of Epidemiology
Associate Professor of Behavioral & Social Sciences
View research profile
Patricia_Risica@brown.edu

Adjunct Faculty


Kim M. Gans, PhD, MPH, LDN

Professor of Human Development and Family Studies, University of Connecticut
Adjunct Professor of Behavioral & Social Sciences, Brown University
View research profile
Kim_Gans@brown.edu

Administrative Staff

Leslie Strolla
Manager of Finance & Administration
Leslie_Strolla@brown.edu

Aimee McDermott
Administrative Coordinator
Aimee_McDermott@brown.edu

Kaley Mitchell
Grants and Contracts Coordinator
Kaley_Mitchell@brown.edu 

Research and Program Staff

Ashanti Avalos
Research Assistant
Ashanti_Avalos@brown.edu

Vanessa Palomo
Project Coordinator
Vanessa_Palomo@brown.edu

Viveka Ayala-Heredia
Senior Research Assistant
Viveka_Ayala-Heredia@brown.edu

Redentora Reyes
Bilingual Research Assistant
Redentora_Reyes@brown.edu

Hilda Castillo
Field Coordinator
Hilda_Castillo@brown.edu

Peter Salhaney
Research Assistant
Peter_Salhaney@brown.edu

Laura Dionne
Data Manager
Laura_Dionne@brown.edu

Christopher Santostefano
Research Assistant
Christopher_Santostefano@brown.edu

Rachelle Edgar
Project Coordinator
Rachelle_Edgar@brown.edu

Seguin Spear
Study Therapist
Seguin_Spear@brown.edu

Jennifer Mello
Statistical Programmer
Jennifer_Mello@brown.edu

Cassandra Sutten Coats
Project Coordinator
Cassandra_Sutten_Coats@brown.edu

Jennifer Olson
Project Director
Jennifer_Olson1@brown.edu

 

 

 

Postdoctoral Research Fellows & Associates

Lauren Connell
PhD, Pennsylvania State University
Postdoctoral Fellow
Lauren_Connell@brown.edu

John Frank
PhD, New York University; Internship, McGaw Medical Center at Northwestern University
Postdoctoral Fellow
John_Frank@brown.edu


Sarah Nadimpalli, RN, MA; PhD, New York University
Research Associate
Sarah_Nadimpalli@brown.edu

Doctoral Students

 

Alberto Edeza, BS 2016, USC
Behavioral and Social Health Sciences
Alberto_Edeza@brown.edu
Advisor: Katie Biello

Jessica Emerson, ScM, Brown University
Behavioral and Social Health Sciences
Jessica_Emerson@brown.edu
Advisor: David Williams

Harry Jin, MPH, Yale University
Epidemiology
Harry_Jin@brown.edu
Advisor: Matthew Mimiaga

Augustine Kang, MS, Harvard University
Behavioral and Social Health Sciences
Augustine_Kang@brown.edu
Advisor: Patricia Risica

Harold Lee, MAPP 2014, University of Pennsylvania; MS 2013, University of Connecticut
Behavioral and Social Health Sciences
Harold_Lee@brown.edu
Advisor: David Williams

Adedotun Ogunbajo, MPH 2016, Yale University
Behavioral and Social Health Sciences
Adedotun_Ogunbajo@brown.edu
Advisor: Matthew Mimiaga

Arjee Restar, MPH 2016, Columbia University
Behavioral and Social Health Sciences
Arjee_Restar@brown.edu
Advisor: Matthew Mimiaga

Master's Students

Laura H. McPeake, MD
Hospital Affiliations: Rhode Island Hospital, The Miriam Hospital
Behavioral and Social Health Sciences
Laura_McPeake@brown.edu
Advisor: Matthew Mimiaga

Peter Salhaney
Behavioral and Social Health Sciences
Peter_Salhaney@brown.edu
Advisors: Katie Biello, Matthew Mimiaga