People

Leadership



Matthew J. Mimiaga, ScD, MPH
Director, Center for Health Equity Research
Professor of Behavioral & Social Sciences and Epidemiology, School of Public Health
Professor of Psychiatry & Human Behavior, Alpert Medical School 
(tenured)
View research profile
Matthew_Mimiaga@brown.edu

Core Faculty


Katie B. Biello, PhD, MPH

Assistant Professor of Behavioral & Social Sciences and Epidemiology
View research profile
Katie_Biello@brown.edu



Akilah Dulin Keita, PhD

Manning Assistant Professor of Behavioral & Social Sciences
View research profile
Akilah_Dulin_Keita@brown.edu



Amy Nunn, ScD, MS

Associate Professor of Medicine and Behavioral & Social Sciences
View research profile
Amy_Nunn@brown.edu





Patricia Markham Risica, DrPH, RD

Associate Professor of Epidemiology
Associate Professor of Behavioral & Social Sciences
View research profile
Patricia_Risica@brown.edu



David M. Williams, PhD

Associate Professor of Behavioral & Social Sciences (tenured)
View research profile
David_M_Williams@brown.edu

Adjunct Faculty


Kim M. Gans, PhD, MPH, LDN

Professor of Human Development and Family Studies, University of Connecticut
Adjunct Professor of Behavioral & Social Sciences, Brown University
View research profile
Kim_Gans@brown.edu



Bess H. Marcus, PhD
Professor and Chair, Department of Family Medicine and Public Health, UC San Diego School of Medicine
Adjunct Professor of Psychiatry and Human Behavior, Brown University
View research profile
Bess_Marcus@brown.edu

Administrative Staff

Leslie Strolla
Manager of Finance & Administration
Leslie_Strolla@brown.edu

Aimee McDermott
Administrative Coordinator
Aimee_McDermott@brown.edu

Kaley Mitchell
Grants and Contracts Coordinator
Kaley_Mitchell@brown.edu 

Research and Program Staff

Ashanti Avalos
Research Assistant
Ashanti_Avalos@brown.edu

Jennifer Mello
Statistical Programmer
Jennifer_Mello@brown.edu

Viveka Ayala-Heredia
Senior Research Assistant
Viveka_Ayala-Heredia@brown.edu

Jennifer Olson
Project Director
Jennifer_Olson1@brown.edu

Justin Cai
Project Coordinator
Xiang_Cai@brown.edu

Vanessa Palomo
Project Coordinator
Vanessa_Palomo@brown.edu

Hilda Castillo
Field Coordinator
Hilda_Castillo@brown.edu

Redentora Reyes
Bilingual Research Assistant
Redentora_Reyes@brown.edu

Cassandra Sutten Coats
Project Coordinator
Cassandra_Sutten_Coats@brown.edu

Peter Salhaney
Research Assistant
Peter_Salhaney@brown.edu

Laura Dionne
Data Manager
Laura_Dionne@brown.edu

Christopher Santostefano
Research Assistant
Christopher_Santostefano@brown.edu

Michelle Loxley
Programmer/Database Manager
Michelle_Loxley@brown.edu

Seguin Spear
Study Therapist
Seguin_Spear@brown.edu

Postdoctoral Research Fellows & Associates

Lauren Connell
PhD, Pennsylvania State University
Postdoctoral Fellow
Lauren_Connell@brown.edu

John Frank
PhD, New York University; Internship, McGaw Medical Center at Northwestern University
Postdoctoral Fellow
John_Frank@brown.edu


Sarah Nadimpalli, RN, MA; PhD, New York University
Research Associate
Sarah_Nadimpalli@brown.edu

Doctoral Students

 

Alberto Edeza, BS 2016, USC
Behavioral and Social Health Sciences
Alberto_Edeza@brown.edu
Advisor: Katie Biello

Jessica Emerson, ScM, Brown University
Behavioral and Social Health Sciences
Jessica_Emerson@brown.edu
Advisor: David Williams

Harry Jin, MPH, Yale University
Epidemiology
Advisor: Matthew Mimiaga

Augustine Kang, MS, Harvard University
Behavioral and Social Health Sciences
Augustine_Kang@brown.edu
Advisor: Patricia Risica

Harold Lee, MAPP 2014, University of Pennsylvania; MS 2013, University of Connecticut
Behavioral and Social Health Sciences
Harold_Lee@brown.edu
Advisor: David Williams

Adedotun Ogunbajo, MPH 2016, Yale University
Behavioral and Social Health Sciences
Adedotun_Ogunbajo@brown.edu
Advisor: Matthew Mimiaga

Arjee Restar, MPH 2016, Columbia University
Behavioral and Social Health Sciences
Arjee_Restar@brown.edu
Advisor: Matthew Mimiaga

Master's Students

Laura H. McPeake, MD
Hospital Affiliations: Rhode Island Hospital, The Miriam Hospital
Behavioral and Social Health Sciences
Laura_McPeake@brown.edu
Advisor: Matthew Mimiaga

Peter Salhaney
Behavioral and Social Health Sciences
Peter_Salhaney@brown.edu
Advisors: Katie Biello, Matthew Mimiaga